Review: The Friend Zone, by @AuthorAbbyJim

Title: The Friend Zone
Author: Abby Jimenez
Rating: 5/5 stars

Fall in love with this “deliciously hot, sweet” (L.J. Shen, USA Today bestselling author) romantic comedy perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Helen Hoang.

Kristen Petersen doesn’t do drama, will fight to the death for her friends, and has no room in her life for guys who just don’t get her. She’s also keeping a big secret: facing a medically necessary procedure that will make it impossible for her to have children.

Planning her best friend’s wedding is bittersweet for Kristen — especially when she meets the best man, Josh Copeland. He’s funny, sexy, never offended by her mile-wide streak of sarcasm, and always one chicken enchilada ahead of her hangry. Even her dog, Stuntman Mike, adores him. The only catch: Josh wants a big family someday. Kristen knows he’d be better off with someone else, but as their attraction grows, it’s harder and harder to keep him at arm’s length.

The Friend Zone will have you laughing one moment and grabbing for tissues the next as it tackles the realities of infertility and loss with wit, heart, and a lot of sass.” (description from Goodreads)

fancy lineresize

I was able to read a few chapter preview of this book earlier in the year. It annoyed me at the time because I only had a few chapters in my hands…and I wanted to read the rest of the book right away. It grabbed me from the beginning. It was a little like torture to wait for the release date. But in the end, it was worth the wait!

I’m sure that’s not enough to go by alone, but if it is, no need to read the rest of this review. Just go read the book. If you need more, here it is.

What caught my attention right away was the characters. Both Josh and Kristen were such real, fully-fleshed out people. I’ve read realistic characters before. And well developed ones. But with these two, I felt that I got even more inside their heads, motivations, and knew how they ticked early on. They did what they did throughout the book because of who they are and no one action stood out as out-of-place to help the plot move.

Another thing I couldn’t get enough of was the overall story. You’ll see in other reviews and interviews with the author why this story stands out from many other romances. Kristen’s condition isn’t often one found in books, etc. I won’t get into that here since others have covered it better than I can. To put it simply, I feel that the author’s choice to right this story the way she did, with her characters dealing with relationship and personal struggles and writing the ending that she did must not have been easy to do. This book packs a real punch, especially in the later half. It doesn’t shy away from bringing on some tears for unexpected reasons. I thank the author for that.

I’m so glad I had the chance to read The Friend Zone. I’m going to read Jimenez’s next book when it comes out next year. I know it will be a great book, even if it may be a challenge for those who’ve read The Friend Zone already. Jimenez is a great author and it’ll be hard to not pick up anything she writes as soon as it’s available.

fancy lineresize

If you’d like to buy a copy of this book, you can find it on:

Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

fancy lineresize

About the Author:

Abby Jimenez is a Food Network champion, motivational speaker, and contemporary romance novelist living in Minnesota. Abby founded Nadia Cakes out of her home kitchen back in 2007. The bakery has since gone on to win numerous Food Network competitions and has amassed an international cult following. Abby’s wry literary wit was spotlighted as the admin behind the hilarious viral comments on the now famous Nadia Cakes Vageode™ cake.

Abby loves a good romance, coffee, doglets, and not leaving the house. Her debut novel, The Friend Zone, is scheduled for release July 2019.

Find out more:

New Release: The Friend Zone, by @AuthorAbbyJim

Fall in love with this “deliciously hot, sweet” (L.J. Shen, USA Today bestselling author) romantic comedy perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Helen Hoang.

Kristen Petersen doesn’t do drama, will fight to the death for her friends, and has no room in her life for guys who just don’t get her. She’s also keeping a big secret: facing a medically necessary procedure that will make it impossible for her to have children.

Planning her best friend’s wedding is bittersweet for Kristen — especially when she meets the best man, Josh Copeland. He’s funny, sexy, never offended by her mile-wide streak of sarcasm, and always one chicken enchilada ahead of her hangry. Even her dog, Stuntman Mike, adores him. The only catch: Josh wants a big family someday. Kristen knows he’d be better off with someone else, but as their attraction grows, it’s harder and harder to keep him at arm’s length.

The Friend Zone will have you laughing one moment and grabbing for tissues the next as it tackles the realities of infertility and loss with wit, heart, and a lot of sass.

fancy lineresize

If you’d like to buy a copy of this book, you can find it on:

Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

fancy lineresize

About the Author:

Abby Jimenez is a Food Network champion, motivational speaker, and contemporary romance novelist living in Minnesota. Abby founded Nadia Cakes out of her home kitchen back in 2007. The bakery has since gone on to win numerous Food Network competitions and has amassed an international cult following. Abby’s wry literary wit was spotlighted as the admin behind the hilarious viral comments on the now famous Nadia Cakes Vageode™ cake.

Abby loves a good romance, coffee, doglets, and not leaving the house. Her debut novel, The Friend Zone, is scheduled for release July 2019.

Find out more: