#Review: Project Snow, by @lafemmecherita

Title: Project Snow
Author: Cherita Smith
Rating: 4/5 stars

“Snow White meets genetic engineering in this captivating blend of science fiction and fairy tale that will hook you from the very first line.

Like most engineered kids, Amara can’t wait to turn sixteen. Sixteen means confirmation of immunity to the aging infection that plagues mankind. And confirmation means freedom, leaving behind the quarantine of the Tower where she’s lived all her life for a new life in the city — no filtration veils required.

But the queen has other plans. The queen is dying and needs a new heart. Daughter or not, Amara’s will do. (description from Goodreads)

fancy lineresize

I enjoy this short story from Cherita Smith. I’ve been trying to read more fairy tale retellings, so it was only natural that this one worked well with my current reading mood.

I’ll be honest that I’m not very familiar with the “original” Snow White story. But it’s safe to say that readers shouldn’t expect a Disney movie from this story. It’s a bit dark, like may tales are. I’m glad the author kept the not-so-happy element in there.

With this being a short story, an author must sacrifice extensive world building in order for there to be room for the characters and plot. I feel that to a point that’s the case with this story. Smith set this in a world unlike our own, after a major event that changed the way the world lives and even looks. While I wasn’t really lost reading this story, I do feel like it could have benefited from having some more world building take place. it was intriguing and I wanted more. Maybe there’s more the author plans on doing with this world and readers will get it when that comes out. I’d for sure enjoy that.

While the characters weren’t very fleshed out, I think it worked just fine in this one. I was actually a bit surprised to be content not getting so deep into each of the major characters.

Overall, I enjoyed this story. I wanted a little bit more from it. But as I mentioned, maybe there’s more in store for us. I’d be more than happy to read more.

fancy lineresize

You can grab this story from:

Amazon | Kobo | B&N

fancy lineresize

About the Author:

Hello, you! I’m Cherita, a Los Angeles native who writes speculative fiction of all kinds: dystopian, science fiction, paranormal & dark fantasy for teens and adults.

Dark, lush & haunting prose, with a dash of creepy-thriller and a sprinkle of fairytale-myth — that’s my writing jam. If that sounds like your jam too, you should give my stories a read.

Once upon a time in the not-too-distant past, I also did fundraising and online marketing for nonprofit organizations including a domestic violence shelter, the politically progressive Brave New Films, and Film Independent, the arts organization behind the Los Angeles Film Festival and the Spirit Awards. I did a lot of writing for all of them too, only none of it was speculative and it was (mostly) non-fiction.

Find out more:

Leave a Reply

