Story Time Friday, with poet @lynniespalmtree

New Year Story Time Friday Banner

fancy lineresize

You Think You Know

by Kristalyn Thornock

You think you know,
But you don’t.
You think you understand,
But there’s no way you can.

Head down,
Walking,
Trying to breathe,
No eye contact,
No fake smiles today.

I don’t want you
To know.
To try and know.
To act like you know.
Because you don’t.

You can’t possibly know the struggle.
It’s mine.
It’s always mine.
Mine alone.

Sometimes okay,
Sometimes not.
Don’t ask.
There’s nothing for you to do.
Nothing you can do.
Just let me walk by,
With tears streaming down my face.

Trying to breathe,
Trying to escape:
The pain,
The illness,
The constant ache.
Let me just be.

One day,
Maybe tomorrow.
Maybe the next day.
Maybe a week, or month, or year from now.
As long as it takes
Then, I may come back to you.

I’ll look up.
I’ll smile again.
A real smile!
The pain will let me go just enough.
I can be me again.
I can be reached again.
I can care again,
If only for a little while.

But until that day,
Remember,
You think you know,
But you don’t.
Nor do I really want you to.

fancy lineresize

About the Author:

You can find Kristalyn over on her blog The Sarcastic Palmtree where she blogs about what she reads, wants to read, and many great authors. You can also find some other fun posts about TV shows and music.

Kristalyn is also mother to Ainsley Thornock, who you may remember from a few weeks back with her story Me and Albert Einstein.

Find out more:

fancy lineresize

How to Submit:

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip one in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

Leave a Reply

