Story Time Friday, with poet @ellle_em

New Year Story Time Friday Banner

fancy lineresize

Haywire

by Lindsay Maruska

crossed Manayunk halfway,
only a little awake,
aware: I inoculated myself
against cold years ago, dip shaking
hands in moth-dust, smear summer
ruin on skin, erupting bone:

my sisters in the canal
sing sinister beneath the bridge
always for me, waiting:
they knit for me home in weed
& mire:

you said yourself
this river was your first friend
.

I never know what season it is;
white bridge curves like
hands& underlit red-light
I never know where I am: Manayunk,

river sisters
narrow winter-
carven streets
strung moth-
thick bones
beneath parchment
skin

my face:
I wake up
sunday train hums river-thick,
clotted tongue, breath oh:
it’s summer now
outside& I didn’t
know.

fancy lineresize

About the Author:

Lindsay Maruska is a 31 year old wannabe writer from New Jersey. She has six dogs, five cats, and one kid. She writes poems and one day dreams of finishing longer projects.

Find out more:

fancy lineresize

How to Submit:

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip one in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

Leave a Reply

