#Review: The Unidentified Redhead, by @Alice_Clayton

the-unidentified-redheadTitle: The Unidentified Redhead (Redhead #1)
Author: Alice Clayton
Rating: 5/5 stars

“When Grace Sheridan returns to Los Angeles to become a working actress, it’s a second shot at a life-long dream. With some help from her best-friend agent, will that dream become a reality—or at thirty-three, has Grace missed her chance at the big time? And when an unexpected sizzling romance with Jack Hamilton, the entertainment industry’s newest “it” boy, threatens to shine an uncomfortable spotlight on her life, how will that affect her career…and his?

Funny, borderline neurotic Grace is perfect in her imperfections, and the sexual chemistry between her and charming yet blissfully unaware Jack is off the charts. With laugh-out-loud dialogue and a super-steamy romance that will get your heart racing, sneaking around in L.A. and dodging the paparazzi has never been so fun.” (description from Goodreads)

fancy lineresize

This is my first time reading an Alice Clayton book. What I wasn’t expecting when I started it was to go out and buy the next two books in the series before I got halfway through this one. I only expected to read it, hopefully enjoy it, and have a good time laughing (as I’ve heard Clayton’s great at writing comedic books). I’m glad I got more than I thought when going into this one.

There’s many aspects of this book that made it one of my favorite reads of the year. One is the characters. My romance reading doesn’t consist of many female leads similar to Grace. I’ve enjoyed many other romances, and many other female MCs, but Grace’s maturity shines through and strengthens her character. I’m sure there are many characters I haven’t been exposed to yet like her, but Grace was a welcomed change for me. I want more characters like her. She knows what she wants and gets it. She’s also hilarious, fun, and a great match for Jack. And even though Jack is the younger, hot new guy in town, he also shows he’s got a level head on his shoulders. He’s someone I’d like to be friends with, especially with how he handles his celebrity fame.

With these two characters comes the romance driving the story forward. It was fast, but natural. There’s a strong bond between them. I’m left wanting to see where it goes from here, with how this first book ended off. I’m even more glad I have books 2 and 3 on my shelf already after finishing this. It’ll be difficult to get through more of my TBR before diving into more Redhead books.

fancy lineresize

You can grab this book from:

Amazon | Kobo | B&N | iBooks

fancy lineresize

About the Author:

ALICE CLAYTON worked in the cosmetics industry for over a decade before picking up a pen (read laptop).

She enjoys gardening but not weeding, baking but not cleaning up, and finally convinced her long-time boyfriend to marry her.

Now, about that Bernese Mountain dog

Find out more:

Leave a Reply

