#Review: One Week Girlfriend, by @MsMonicaMurphy

One Week GirlfriendTitle: One Week Girlfriend (One Week Girlfriend #1)
Author: Monica Murphy
Rating: 5/5 stars

“Temporary. That’s the word I’d use to describe my life right now. I’m temporarily working double shifts—at least until I can break free. I’m temporarily raising my little brother—since apparently our actual mother doesn’t give a crap about either of us. And I always end up as nothing but the temporary girlfriend—the flavor of the week for every guy who’s heard the rumor that I give it up so easily.

At least Drew Callahan, college football legend and local golden boy, is upfront about it. He needs someone to play the part of his girlfriend for one week. In exchange for cash. As if that’s not weird enough, ever since he brought me into his world, nothing really makes sense. Everyone hates me. Everyone wants something from him. And yet the only thing Drew seems to want is . . . me.

I don’t know what to believe anymore. Drew is sweet, sexy, and hiding way more secrets than I am. All I know is, I want to be there for him—permanently.“(description from Goodreads)

fancy lineresize

I really don’t know what I was expecting out of this book. I went into it mostly blind, never having heard of it. It didn’t take long for it to grow on me, and by the end I knew I’d found a new favorite book.

One of my favorite things about the book was the dual POV. Even after having read a decent amount of books using dual POV, I’m normally on the fence about it. It’s ok for most authors, while some authors might be better off sticking to one character’s POV. In this book, Murphy shows that she knows just how to get the full benefit of the writing technique. The POV switched within chapters, sometimes back and forth a few times, yet each time it switched the story flowed without any snags. That’s very rare in what I read. The dual POV is part of what made this book great.

Along with the POV, the characters who make up the perspectives were just as great to read. Both Drew and Fable have so much depth to them and don’t really shy away from letting the reader in to their thoughts. While there are big secrets that aren’t revealed right away, enough it let out from the characters to not frustrate the reader awaiting the reveal. There also wasn’t a huge lack of communication between the characters like I’ve been annoyed with in other books. Yes, there are things left unsaid to cause conflict, but not to the point where I was yelling at the characters to just say something and be somewhat mature about how to deal with people. Both Drew and Fable have good heads on their shoulders, while still having room to grow.

I’m looking forward to the next book in the series, to continue reading about this characters. I know there’s much more that’s about to take place with them and I’m eager to see how it all works out.

fancy lineresize

You can grab this book from:

Amazon | Kobo | B&N | iBooks

fancy lineresize

About the Author:

Monica Murphy is the New York Times, USA Today and #1 international bestselling author of the One Week Girlfriend series, the Billionaire Bachelors and The Rules series. Her books have been translated in almost a dozen languages and has sold over one million copies worldwide. She is a traditionally published author with Bantam/Random House and Harper Collins/Avon, as well as an independently published author. She writes new adult, young adult and contemporary romance. She is also USA Today bestselling romance author Karen Erickson.

She is a wife and a mother of three who lives with her family in central California on fourteen acres in the middle of nowhere, along with their one dog and too many cats. A self-confessed workaholic, when she’s not writing, she’s reading or hanging out with her husband and kids. She’s a firm believer in happy endings, though she will admit to putting her characters through many angst-filled moments before they finally get that hard won HEA.

Find out more:

Leave a Reply

