#PoetryMonth – This is the End…

Poetry Month FB Banner

Line curvy

This is the end…or is it? Is that just me quoting one of my favorite poets in the music industry, Jim Morrison? Well, both, I think. It is the end. It is the end of April and with that National Poetry Month.

But what does this mean? Do we go back to our regularly scheduled lives and read fiction until April comes around again? Do we forget about all the poetry surrounding us in our every day lives? I hope not.

I had a few hopes for the outcome of this year’s Poetry Month celebration. One hope was that I’d be able to have at least one post for each of the 30 days in April. Another, to build off that, was for more people to come to the blog and discover some new poetry. And ultimately, I hope those who stopped by will keep discovering poetry, reading poetry, and stepping out of their comfort zone if they’re still not sure about letting poetry in to their lives.

Were my hopes realized? Well, today’s post is number 30. I need to thank all my guests for that accomplishment. I wouldn’t have been able to come up with enough content to fill 30 days without all of you. I also have to acknowledge that my daily view count has gone up. This month I’m averaging about 20 views a day. Ok, all you seasoned bloggers out there, I know that’s barely a blip on the “great stats” radar. But this is what blogging seems to have come to. At least on A Life Among the Pages. These are great numbers for me in the last year. The only thing lacking, still, is interaction. There’s been only a handful of comments for all 30 posts. I get some interaction through RTs in Twitter and sharing on Facebook. I’d just like to make sure my readers are enjoying what they read. So maybe consider interacting in the future? I know I’m kind of bad at it myself. Let’s all improve.

As for people reading more poetry and discovering poets, etc. I do think this has happened. Even I discovered new poets this month. Some are poets featured on the blog. Some I found in other places. This is something I’ll keep doing. It’s a thrill to discover new writers.

On a more personal level, I think I’ve finally figured out that I can, and should continue, read an entire poetry collection in a short period of time. It used to take me months because I’d skip around collections finding gems here and there. Doing that, I wouldn’t finish nor appreciate collections as much. I’m glad that’s changed.

So, what now? The month is over. What shall we do now? I know what I’m going to do. I’m going to read some of the collections I’ve borrowed from the library. Read more that I have on hold. And I’m going to keep reading poetry until I can’t any longer. I’m really enjoying this reading mood I’m in, even if it means I’ve barely read novels this year.

Before I leave you to go on your merry way, I have a question. Maybe a few. Did you enjoy Poetry Month? Would you like to see it again in 2017? If so, please let me know if there’s anything I can do to improve upon it. Also, if there’s anything else you’d like to see on the blog in general, let me know. I hope you’ll continue coming to the blog, even if I’m not posting daily.

Thanks again to all the poets, readers, and everyone else who made this NPM a great month!

Leave a Reply

