#PoetryMonth – The Music of @Globelamp

Poetry Month FB Banner

Line curvy

You’re probably sick of me saying this, but as I’ve said in other posts this month: Poetry isn’t only a form of writing meant to be read. Listening to poetry is just as important as reading it. And most of us already do it, even if we don’t realize it.

One of the most popular way to listen to poetry is through listening to music. You listen to music. I listen to music. We all listen to poetry! Because it’s such a common thing, we often forget that the lyrics we love, whether they’re catchy, heartbreaking, annoying, or any other adjective we can give a song, it’s all poetry.

Because of this, I’d like to feature a poet, singer/songwriter, and fellow fan of Francesca Lia Block (author of the Weetzie Bat books, but also another great poet to check out!) Elizabeth le Fey, aka Globelamp.

fancy lineresize

What I’d like to do is to keep this post simple. I have hopes that you’ll all follow the links below to find more of Globelamp’s music, buy it, listen to it, enjoy it, etc. To help persuade you to do that, I’d like to include my favorite song (so far) from Globelamp, Washington Moon. Maybe I could encourage you to click-through to the Bandcamp page to read the lyrics as you listen, as well. That is what I’m attempting to make us all more aware of after all: the poetry within music.

fancy lineresize

fancy lineresize

Now that you’ve listened to my favorite song Elizabeth has written, I’d like to give you a chance to listen to her newest single, Controversial/Confrontational. It’ll be on the upcoming release The Orange Glow, which comes out June 10th. That’ll be an album I’m looking forward to this summer.

fancy lineresize

Line curvy

Find music, photos, and words from Globelamp on…

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Tumblr

Soundcloud | Bandcamp | Youtube

Leave a Reply

