#PoetryMonth – Books I read in College

Poetry Month FB Banner

Line curvy

It’s another Sunday during Poetry Month. With that comes another list of poetry recommendations.

Last week, I recommended some Indie poetry collections to check out. This time around, I’m digging into my stacks. I put together a list of books I had to read for poetry courses back in college. Most are collections. There’s also an anthology and a textbook. There was one more textbook I read for a course, but I couldn’t remember the name of it and can’t find it on my lists anywhere. Even without it, I think this is a great list to check out. My professor(s) thought so.

Oh, and you’ll notice two bonus books listed. One is by my poetry professor. I got that back in college, without his influence to do so. I feel it has a strong influence on my own work though. The other is one of the collections he suggested that I check out (along with a few others like Plath and James Wright) because of the similarities with my work. I’ve read that one a few times already.

If you check any of these out, I hope you enjoy them. I wasn’t the biggest fan of every single one, but none of them were bad. I’ll have to do a reread of most of them once I’m reunited with them (almost all of these are back in NY). It’s been many years since I’ve opened them up.

Book_17

Line curvy

Find something you might want to read? I hope so. Want to see another set of recommendations focused on a theme? Let me know what that theme is, and if you can help with some recs for it, include them in the message.

Happy reading!

One response to “#PoetryMonth – Books I read in College

  1. Pingback: #PoetryMonth – #LGBTQ Poets | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

