Story Time Friday gets a little Personal

New Year Story Time Friday Bannerfancy line

Today we have another anonymous poet. And before you ask, it’s not our previously unnamed poet. There are more anonymous poets out there and maybe they’ll find their way into an STF post. Who knows.

I’m going to let this poem speak for itself. I feel it’s best experienced that way.

I hope you enjoy this poem. I did.

*Please read the note below the poem/box. It’s about National Poetry Month, in April.*
fancy line

Personal

by Anonymous

I’m a fraud and they know it, I know that they know
That I don’t know the answers, I’ll look them up though
That’s what I learned in grad school, the how, not the why
I can pick that kid’s brain while my own slowly fries
I can figure out how the mind figures things out
but I just can’t explain what I’m talking about
I forget how to speak when my colleagues share tales
of abuse and neglect, and of parents in jail
And I never learned how to teach different skills
Like patience and manners and how to stay still
All these kids have sad stories and all I can do
is be there for them, listen, and help them get through
And most days I feel like that’s never enough
I feel like soon staff will start calling my bluff
Every day is a battle, I have to admit
And so many of my friends have already quit
And some days I wonder what I’m doing here
Why I spend most my mornings crippled by fear
Why so many decisions are riddled with doubt
But I’m trying my damnedest and shouldn’t that count?

fancy lineNational Poetry Month is in April. Even if you don’t live in the US, NPM is something I’ve seen international poetry lovers celebrate, as well.

This April, I’m going to try celebrating it in a big way. This blog will turn change to an (almost) exclusively poetry blog all month. To do this I’ll need help from the fellow poets out there. Even if you’re not a poet you can join the fun.

I’m still putting together ideas, but as of now I’m looking for:

  • Original work to post.
  • Poets who’d like me to feature one of their books.
  • Poets/Readers who’d like to write a guest post about
    • why they enjoy poetry
    • why they write poetry
    • their favorite poet(s)
    • or anything else related to poetry.
  • More to come, but feel free to share ideas. I’m open to almost anything.

If you already know you’d like to take part, let me know. Either comment on this post or use the contact form. You can find the form linked at the end of the “How to Submit” section below, or in the menu at the top of the page. Right now I just need a head count. Though, if you know what you’d like your post to include, you can start discussing that with me (use the contact form for that).
fancy line

How to Submit:

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip one in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

Leave a Reply

