Story Time Friday: Another verse novella…in progress

New Year Story Time Friday Bannerfancy line

I had another idea for a novel/novella/short story in verse. Last time I had one, I also posted it here. That was back in…oh, well it was almost a year ago. Last February. And if you were wondering what ever happened with that idea. Well, I didn’t work on it any more since then. But the WIP I’m sharing today has more promise. There’s more of a story behind it. Aside from me needing to research some things, because I don’t really know as much about the classics as I think everyone assumes they do, I feel like this could be a fun piece to read.

I had the idea for this, as a prose story, recently. I only put a few notes on paper and let it stew. I decided to try starting it yesterday. To make it even more challenging and fun, I decided to try it in verse. I know, I write poetry. But my narrative poetry can only go so far in the realm of telling a fictional story for any length of time. I’m combining my “strength” in poetry with my limited experience with prose. We’ll see how it ends up. I just have to keep at it and not start something else before I get there.

Note – Please keep in mind that this was written less than 24hrs ago. Also, formatting poetry on a blog is not a pleasant experience. This is mostly mentioned because of my use of indention. There shouldn’t be a new stanza created for each (only after, in most cases), but it was either that or don’t indent. I wanted to keep the indents this time, even if this is a rough piece.

Another note – From Where I Stand and Winter’s Homecoming and Other Poems on sale, still. $0.99 each, over on Amazon. I might end the sale once February gets here. I might not. It’s not really hurting me either way, I guess. Even with the lower price, sales are rare. *commentary over*
fancy line

The Characters
(work in progress…so is the title)

by Robert Zimmermann

Nothing like a zombie apocalypse
to start off the day right.

Ok, the zombie apocalypse
isn’t exactly what’s happening,
but there’s definitely some drama
going down at the bookshop today.

Is the shop infested with the
living dead?

Not exactly.

Is it an invasion of the
undead?

Kind of.

I think it’s more accurate to say
that they were never technically alive.
They can’t be any form of dead if
they never lived in the first place.

When I walked through
the bookshop doors this morning,
I was greeted by an
impressively dressed…

butler.

There are only a few of us working
in the shop, and this guy
wasn’t one of us.

“Welcome to <insert name later>,
sir,” he said to me.
“My name is Jeeves.”

At first I laughed.

One of the other workers must
have hired this guy to perform
as a prank.

”Nice to meet you, Jeeves.
What an original name you have.”

All the amusement of the moment disappeared
as an arrow whizzed by, millimeters away from
piercing my nose.

I dropped to the floor,
but not before seeing a green blur
ducking behind the register.

”What the hell is going on?”
I screeched at the man calling himself Jeeves.

”What’s wrong, sir?
Did Mr. Hood’s arrow graze you?
I’ve never known his aim to be
anything but true. I assure you
he never meant to harm you.”

“Mr. Hood? As in Robin…
Robin Hood?”
I was still on the floor,
trembling now.

A second later, the green blur jump
from its place of hiding and stood before me.
“Robin Hood, at your service!”

I slowly lifted my head, peering up at him.
His hand was extended toward me, possibly
in a friendly manner, but I wasn’t waiting
to see what he intended.
I shot up off the floor, like the arrow that almost
killed me, and ran out of the store.
I didn’t look back.

Only after reaching the sidewalk did I realize
that a crowd had gathered.
It seemed as if half the town had shown,
to gawk at me.
I really must be the victim of a practical joke
gone wrong. Very wrong.

Still shaking and confused, I pushed through
the crowd, walking away to collect myself.
After reaching the next block, I tentatively looked back.
To my surprise the gathered crowd wasn’t staring
in my direction any longer.
Their eyes had been glued to the shop windows
all along. This wasn’t a practical joke, after all.

I had a bone chilling realization, then.
Those two characters,

Jeeves
Robin Hood,

They were…real.
So were the rest. There must have been over
a dozen more eccentric characters in the store.
I saw each one moving around in there, as I made
my way back through the people.

Jeeves. Robin Hood. Characters.

Characters….

Characters.

It was then that I fainted.
Right on my own store’s steps.
And it wouldn’t be the first time I fainted that day.

fancy line

How to Submit:

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip one in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

 

Leave a Reply

