Story Time Friday – a #poem from an unnamed poet

New Year Story Time Friday Bannerfancy line

Looks like 2016 is off to a good start. Two weeks in a row for a Story Time Friday post! Another great thing is that it’s not my own work I’m sharing this week. We have a new poet today, but I can’t tell you who it is. The poet would like to remain anonymous, but I’m sure he (or she, oooh the mystery) will be checking in to see how the poem’s being received. Don’t be shy, leave some feedback. It’s what keeps writers coming back with more work in the future.

One more thing before I let you go read the poem. In the Christmas post you may have seen that I was giving away From Where I Stand for free. Well, that coupon has expired and only three people grabbed it in the few weeks it was free. I hope that means everyone who ever wanted to read the book already bought it at some point. If that’s not the case and someone still would like a copy, I put it on sale for $0.99 over on Amazon. I also have Winter’s Homecoming and Other Poems on sale for the same price. They’ll be this way for the near future. Figured it might be a good incentive for new readers to check out my work and I can make 35 cents off them for doing so 😉
fancy line

Who Am I?

by Anonymous

Look at me.
What do you see?
Boy. Man. Friend. Husband. Father.
I look at me
And see what you can’t see.
Coward. Weak. Afraid. Lost.
Gray clouds encompass my soul.
My burdens and fears crystalize.
In the darkest hours I long for the light
And the peace it brings, if even momentarily.

Sunshine.
Warm. Life giving light.
Sunshine has power to break through the clouds.
Her rays find their way in.
Comfort. Hope. The life she provides hugs me tight,
Helps me break free today.

Hugs.
A warm embrace.
A show of affection, support, caring, and love.
It’s not about sex or copping a feel
But about protection, compassion, companionship, comfort, and peace.
As arms encompass another,
The transfer occurs,
And for those moments, all is right and good.

Abruptly.
Selfishly.
Cowardly.
Technology is used to bridge the gap that distance provides,
To unburden a soul,
Professing thoughts, needs, and wants,
The longing for hugs’ warm embrace.

Unrequited?
One directional?
It’s possible, but who can really say?
The coward shrinks with his unburdened soul
Wondering if honesty is always the best,
As new burdens crush his soul.
Waiting.
Unknowing.
Racked with guilt
The coward comes to realize he shoved sunshine into the rabbit’s hole.

Surprised?
Upset?
Saddened?
Scared?
Confused to be sure.
She tumbles through emotions as the void swallows her whole.

Silence.
Deafening sounds of silence.
The silence screams her response as sunshine withdraws.

Darkness.
Cold.
Gloomy.
Frightened he waits for the sun,
Not knowing if she will ever return.
Alone.
Being damned to the dark
Is his biggest fear.
He realizes he may have pulled the plug on the sun.

Waiting.
Praying.
Struggling daily.
Desperate to find peace
Either in this life
Or the panacea promised by death.
Hoping against the odds
That one day perhaps
Sunshine will forgive
Returning to share her light
And they’ll hug their sorrows away.

fancy line

How to Submit:

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip one in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

 

Leave a Reply

