Story Time Friday – New Beginnings

New Year Story Time Friday Bannerfancy line

It’s a new year. With that comes new beginnings and all that. Even though we’ve just started winter, the season where everything’s dead (unlike spring, the real new beginning/rebirth season), we can take time to look forward at the coming year. Maybe change some things. Maybe make it better than the last year. At least most of us try to accomplish this.

In the past, I’ve set some reading goals to start off the new year. I don’t think I’ll write those down this year. I didn’t accomplish as much of the last list, but I made an effort. That’s what I’ll try doing again. Make an effort in reading. I’ll keep reading more diversely and finding more books to enjoy.

For writing goals? Well, maybe I’ll have a new collection out this year. I should. It’s been a long time. Maybe this poem will make it in there. If anything, it’s a start at something. I’ve written a little more lately and I’m going to try to keep that up. I’m going to try keeping STF going too. For that I will need your help. I realized that I can’t keep the series going on my work alone. I tried at one point, then just gave up. Please consider submitting your own work and making STF a regular series again. It’s a way to get your work and name out there. And readers do enjoy it when there’s a post. (Find how to submit at the end of the post.) For now, I hope you enjoy this new piece. It’s still a bit raw, but most of these posts are.
fancy line

A Festive New Year

by Robert Zimmermann

Lights line the trees,
the bushes, and the leaves.

The houses, outlined and aglow,
in row upon row.

They’re runways from above.
Wonderlands on the streets below.

Night becomes day
in a technicolor haze.

Wood stoves are burning
but it’s the children’s eyes ablaze.

The magic of the season
isn’t lost on them.

We should take note
from this younger generation.

Once we were like them,
staring in awe, all lit up.

Santas, reindeer, snowmen.
No reason to feel down.

Shall we embrace this feeling
for the coming year?

fancy line

How to Submit:

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip one in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

 

Leave a Reply

