Story Time Friday goes to the desert

Story Time Friday Bannerfancy lineresize

Deserter

by Robert Zimmermann

It seemed like a
great idea at the time.
Everything was going to shit.
However, out in the wide open
country, there seemed to be some
hope, while I lived in a cramped
hopeless city.

There was no need for power
or even running water once I
moved out west.
There were fields for planting,
cattle to graze, then feed off of,
and horses to do the heavy lifting
once the gas ran out.

Moving to this small town
was a smart decision…
until it wasn’t.

fancy lineresize
After several months here
and only worsening news from
cities out east,
the town decided to put together
a militia.

Again, the militia
seemed like a great idea.

I was lucky to get out
of the city while I did.
Others weren’t so lucky.

With all the unrest,

Violence was everywhere
and small gangs were forming.
They were heading out
toward places like us each day.

Being one of the latest,
and, as it turned out, last
additions to town,
I was eager to prove my
loyalty. I volunteered
to defend my new town.

It wasn’t until the first
gang made it to our walls
that things went south.

fancy lineresize
Long story short:
I’m hiding up in
the mountains. And
I know I won’t last
long.

Longer story,
not so short:
My brother showed up.
He was leading the gang,
demanding entrance to town.

I don’t even know who’s still
alive down there. After the first
shot, I didn’t stick around for more.
I booked it out of town and
up into the mountains before
I saw too much blood spilled.

fancy lineresize
So here I sit, waiting.
I won’t last much longer.

If the town won, they’ll
come after me for being
disloyal.
They know this land well.
I can’t hide.

If my brother’s gang won,
he’ll be after me for not
defending him.

If they’re all dead,
I’ll still die.
I don’t know this land
well, at all. I’m just
a city boy running for
his life.

fancy lineresize

How to Submit:

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip one in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

 

 

One response to “Story Time Friday goes to the desert

Leave a Reply

