Story Time Friday: A look back…

Story Time Friday Bannerfancy lineresize

I haven’t written anything new this week. I almost did, but nothing came out on the page. At some point it’ll all flow out easier, and when that happens, Story Time Friday posts will be more frequent like they used to be.

Today, as we all know, isn’t the happiest of days. This is especially true in the United States…even more especially in New York, Pennsylvania, and D.C. I’m not in New York any more. I’m in Colorado. It’s a little weird for many reasons. Today is no exception. It’s my first chance to see, first hand, how the rest of the country remembers and honors a day that changed our nation in many ways, over a decade ago.

Whether or not you’d like to read it, I wanted to share the only piece I wrote that directly deals with 9/11. It’s from my first year in college, from October 2006. I’m not going to push this post on anyone. I’m just going to leave it up and let you stumble on it if you do. We all deal with the past in different ways, no need to stir the pot when it’s not necessary. We’ll all always remember. Just remember that we’re still here and hopefully some good change has come to the world since.

fancy lineresize

Afterbirth (9/11/01)

by Robert Zimmermann

 

Concrete, dust, raining.
Children watch in pain, eyes glued
to the T.V. screen.

fancy lineresize

I don’t normally talk about my poems here. I let each one speak for itself. But this is a haiku. There’s not much to them, though, some have so much inside the limited amount of space. I won’t explain myself on this one, but if anyone wants to discuss it or anything else, feel free to comment or send me a message if you want to stay more private. Sometimes we just need an ear to listen.

fancy lineresize

How to Submit:

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip one in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

Leave a Reply

