Story Time Friday…It’s Back!

Story Time Friday Bannerfancy lineresizeI’m back! I know you’ve missed me (I hope) in the last few weeks. With the move to Colorado and settling in once we got here, I haven’t had time to write anything or do too much for the blog in general. Because of that, STF was put on hold for a few weeks.

The other day, though, I rode my skateboard down to one of the bigger parks here in my new town to see what it was all about. Eventually a poem popped into my head and today, I’m sharing that poem. I hope you enjoy my first Colorado poem…and I hope there are more (and better) ones to come.

fancy lineresize

Centennial

 by Robert Zimmermann

Centennial.
A hundred years
full of countless people,
endless places,
and every event that can
be recalled.

In this park
there’s not only grass
and a place for
children to play.

Centennial
is filled with education.
The history of Rifle
unrolls, like a red
carpet, premiering more
than may be expected.

Major world events took
place during Rifle’s century
of growth.
Even this small town
didn’t get passed by.

There were years of
sickness, wars, and discovery.
And Rifle grew more.

There is a park in rifle,
in a part of Colorado
that may seem a place
to simply drive through.
But history happened here,
just like it happens
everywhere.

fancy lineresize

How to Submit:

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip one in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

Leave a Reply

