Story Time Friday – New to the Neighborhood

Story Time Friday Bannerfancy lineresize

Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

 by Robert Zimmermann

“Really? More bloodsuckers? Just what we need in the neighborhood. That last family settled in so perfectly.”

“Matt! What did I tell you last week about your attitude?”

“‘Vampires are people, too,'” Matt responded in a mocking tone.

“Exactly,” his mom said. “Now how about you go over there and introduce yourself. You know it’s difficult for them to be moving in so early in the day.”

“Do I have to, Mom?”

“Yes. And make sure you invite them over after dinner tonight. I’d like to meet them myself.”

“Fine. But I won’t like it.”

Matt walked down the street to his new neighbor’s house. A many was trying to drag a box into the house with one hand, while he shaded himself with an umbrella in the other. the whole family was moving around in a similar fashion.

“Hi, I’m Matt,” he said awkwardly.

Giving up on the box, the man replied, “Hello. I’m Don. I guess we’re neighbors.”

“Yea. I live a few houses down. My mom would like to invite your family over later, if you’re not too busy. Oh, and would you like some help moving your stuff inside?

“Thank you, Matt. We’d appreciate the help. Though, we were just about to take a little break. Would you like to come in for a drink? It’s hot out here today.”

A few hours later, Matt started walking home. Don and his family were close behind as Matt reached the front door and opened it.

“Mom, we’re here!” Matt shouted inside.

“Come in, come in!” His mom rushed to the door. “Matt, you should have just shown our guests inside. Where are your manners?”

“It’s ok, we didn’t mind waiting for you. I’m Don and this is my wife Jill and daughter Anna.”

“I’m Matt’s mom, Jane. It’s a pleasure to meet you.

In the days to follow, Jane only slipped out of the house after the sun set to run some errands. Matt went out a little earlier, but only to go down the street to spend time with Don’s daughter Anna. Life in the neighborhood certainly does change when vampires move in.

fancy lineresize

How to Submit:

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip one in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

Leave a Reply

