Story Time Friday – Thar be #Dragons!

Story Time Friday Banner

fancy lineresize

Thar be Dragons? Yes, that’s right. At least there are in this story. It will also be the theme for my themed book recommendations post in two weeks. Getting a good list going for that. There are many to pick from, but I’m getting some help narrowing the titles down and getting a better list. If you’re a dragon fan and would like to help with recs, let me know.

Until then, enjoy this little story.

fancy lineresize

The Storybook of Our Lives

 by Robert Zimmermann

“DRAGONS!” Tim ran into the house, screaming.

“Shut the door, Timmy,” his mom replied. “What’s this about dragons?”

“There…are…dragons…outside,” said Tim, gasping for air.

“Tim, you know it’s not nice to lie to your mother,” I said from my seat at the kitchen table. “Now, tell us what you really saw out there.”

“I didn’t lie, dad. I really saw dragons. Three of them. They were flying out over the cornfields by the high school.”

“What did I just tell you about lying? Do I have to send you to you…”

“Honey, maybe Timmy is telling the truth,” interjected my wife. “Would it be that out of place with all we’ve seen lately?”

She had a point. The other day, when I was driving home from work, a werewolf ran in front of the car. Good thing they’re fast, or else I would have hit the thing. And Jane swears the new doctors who worked overnight with her at the hospital is a vampire. Pale skin, fangs, and all. It wasn’t her first encounter with the undead either. More and more vampires were taking over the graveyard shifts all over town.

Come to think of it, dragons are only to be expected with how things have been going lately. It’s as if someone tore apart some storybooks and piled the lose pages all together.

Next thing you know, I’ll be out getting the mail and…No, I don’t even want to image that. Let’s hope no one added pages from one of His books to the pile.

“Tim, would you like to show me those dragons? We should add a picture of them to our scrapbook.” I put my arm around my son’s shoulder and walked him out the door. Not to worry though. I made sure to grab my staff and Tim wasted no time shouldering his quiver of arrows. We’re no fools.

fancy lineresize

How to Submit:

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip one in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

Leave a Reply

