In Which I Discuss My #Fantasy…No, Not Like That

If you’re still thinking I mean a dirty fantasy, that’s not what I’m talking about here today. Maybe another day…but probably not.

Today, I’d like to talk a little about my relationship with the fantasy genre. For many years I’ve been an outsider to it. Always peaking over the castle wall, wanting to walk in, but my foot slips on a mossy stone and I fall back down into the moat a little discouraged. The genre is very appealing to me, but it’s the writing that keeps me bogged down all too often.

This isn’t the fault of the genre, the writers, or even me. It’s just a hurdle I have to work passed. And I’ve made some leaps in my fantasy reading. Just not as many as I’d like to have by now.

My gateway into fantasy was definitely when I discovered S.M. Boyce and her debut novel, Lichgates. While it’s a fantasy novel, it’s not too high fantasy and not too low fantasy either. I felt like it was in a middle ground and easy to digest, and even easier to fall in love with. As the second, third, then final books were released, I was only drawn into the world even more. I still don’t think I’ve left Ourea. I think this picture will illustrate how this is my favorite book series, ever.

photo 1 (3)

Possibly the most complete Grimoire Saga collection in existence. Both original and new covers. And original, original Lichgates cover.

But not all of my ventures with fantasy have been successes. Last summer, I started the first book of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series, The Eye of the World. I’ve only gotten twenty pages into it. It’s not even a full two chapters of the book, but it took me a few days to get that far. Honestly, I don’t know why. It’s not a boring book. It’s not too wordy. It’s just a very slow build, I guess.

As you can see, I’ve gotten most of the series despite my difficulty with the books. I really want to see what it has in store. It sounds really good. It can’t be one of the most well-known fantasy series for nothing.

photo 4 (2)

So, where do I stand on fantasy at present? Well, I know I need more patience. That will be key. Also, I probably should not do a close read of the text. That’s how I normally read. I read each and every word and take it all in. It often leads to me stumbling or zoning out on a sentence. Not too much of an issue unless you have 800 more pages to read. I’m sure it’s ok to lighten up a big. I’m sure I won’t actually miss anything that’s going on.

fancy lineresize

Maybe that wasn’t enough of a discussion on the fantasy genre. It turned into more of a confession and resolution than anything else. I’m ok with that. I hope you are too. And if you’re not, I have some more goodies for you. It took most of the morning, but I pulled out almost all of my fantasy books from the shelves and photographed them. This way all of us can get an idea of my goals for reading the genre, even if I’m not making any headway. Goals are good, right? It’s the first step in accomplishing something.

So, here it goes:

photo 1 (1)

My Tolkien collection. I even pulled out a Harvard Lampoons parody book I picked up one day.

photo 1 (2)

And I can’t show Tolkien without showing C.S. Lewis. No, I haven’t read these yet. I know…I should.

photo 2 (3)

This falls in a strange place in fantasy, in my opinion. It’s in the easily accessible area, and not really high fantasy (like most of the rest of these books will be). But Harry Potter, while not being my cup of tea so far, is a very important series for the book industry in general. It’d be wrong not to show my collection.

photo 1 (4)

Another well-known series. I know these will take me awhile to read. I’m cool with that. At least he writes slow enough and I could even catch up in a few years, haha.

photo 2 (2)

Another big fantasy series. Another that sounds like fun. Terry Brooks’ Shannara books and another that looks more comedic and a better start for me.

photo 5 (1)

A few random ones. Fun fact: I read a good chunk of Druids as a kid, but put it down at some point. Then we got rid of the book in my non-reading phase. Found a copy last year. Gotta finish it now. I liked what I read so far. (Not exactly fantasy, more historical fantasy or something)

photo 4 (1)

My mom found these books one day at her job, where I’ve gotten a good many books for cheap. Don’t know much about the trilogy, but I liked the covers.

photo 3 (1)

I’m sure some of these are familiar. Again, really want to read them all. We’ll see how many years it takes for that to happen.

photo 2 (1)

Didn’t know The Sword in the Stone was a book until I found the copy of the left. Then found the full book and the concluding book after. I guess I can get rid of The Sword and the Stone now, since it’s redundant.

photo 5

I’m sure Stephen King’s Dark Tower series can fit into many genres. For today, I’ll draw on the fantasy elements. Mainly, I just want to brag at my almost complete collection of the illustrated editions.

photo 4

Found book two one day for free (I think). Eventually found book one. Do I know much about it? Nope, but look at those covers. It’s gotta be fun. That one’s shiny.

photo 3

I’d never heard of Tanith Lee before. But I got these for five cents each at a garage sale last year with some others. I like taking chances like that when it’s cheap enough to do so. Turns out I have some friends who like her writing. I guess it was a good choice.

photo 2

Another random purchase. Got them four (sadly none were the first in the series) at a Boy Scout donation sale thingy last summer. Mainly got them because of the covers, and I think I’d vaguely heard the name before. I’ll find out once I get book one.

photo 1

I got a few of these from a box of books Justin Bog sent me a few Christmas’ ago. I started reading book one and had to get the rest. I almost have the full second trilogy now, and I’m working my way through book one. Sadly, it was yet another book that got pushed aside from others, but not forgotten. Also, I found first editions (I’m pretty sure) of two of the books last year for next to nothing.

photo 5 (2)

One day I’ll find a copy of the first Dragon Riders of Pern book. For now, I’ve picked these up over the years. Sci-fi and fantasy combine for these. or is it just one or the other? See, you’re intrigued now too. But I think it’s a blending of the two, which sounds like fun.

fancy lineresize

And that concluded my Fantasy Book Tour. I hope you enjoyed it. Please mind the gap when exiting onto the platfo…what? I don’t know. It’s turning into one of those days.

I’m sure many readers share my experience with fantasy. Maybe you’ve walked away completely from it. Maybe you’ve pushed ahead and become a fantasy lover. Maybe you already were. I’d love to hear your thoughts about the genre. And again, I’d highly recommend the Grimorie Saga to those looking to get into fantasy. I talk about the series all the time, but for good reason. I look forward to hearing from you all.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

