Favorite Children’s Books from my Readers for #CBW15

This week is Children’s Book Week. I know it’s a little late to bring it up on the blog, but I only found out on Tuesday. Over the last two days I’ve been asking my readers what their favorite children’s books are. That’s what I’ll be sharing with you today. It seemed like the best way to celebrate a week dedicated to books for younger readers. Plus, I don’t have enough recommendations to fill the post up myself.

There aren’t many books from my childhood that stuck with me into adulthood. Because of that, a few of the books in the following list will have been read when I was an adult. There’s nothing wrong with adults reading “non-adult” books. Maybe it makes the list a bit more interesting, too. So here are a few that I’d recommend. And I’ll follow that up with some favorites from readers who took the time to share their favorite books.

fancy lineresize

My Top 5

The Phantom Tollbooth, by Norton Juster

Alice in Wonderland/Through the Looking-Glass, by Lewis Carroll

The Funny Adventures of Little Nani, by Cinta Garcia de la Rosa

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day, by Judith Viorst

fancy lineresize

Bear Allen’s favorite book is

Blueberry Girl, by Neil Gaiman

and be sure to check out her blog Black White and Read Books…if you are a fan of Gilmore Girls (like I am) definitely head over!

fancy lineresize

Here are some favorites from the folks over at The Sarcastic Palmtree!

Kristalyn:

Brown Bear, Brown Bear What Do You See? By Eric Carle

Beighley:

One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish by Dr. Seuss

Meaghan:

The Cat In the Hat by Dr. Seuss

Ainsley:

Leonardo The Terrible Monster by Mo Willems

Other household favorites:

“Stand Back,” said the Elephant “I’m Going To Sneeze!” By Patricia Thomas

The Scrambled States of America by Laurie Keller

The Day The Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

fancy lineresize

Author Anya Breton has a retelling of a Brothers Grimm tale as her favorite…

The Twelve Dancing Princesses, by Ruth Sanderson

and you can find more on Anya on her site.

fancy lineresize

A reader from the Facebook page, Danean, shared her favorites as a child,

The Little House on the Prairie books, by Laura Ingalls Wilder

and mysteries like

Encyclopedia Brown, by Donald J. Sobol

Nancy Drew, by Carolyn Keen

The Hardy Boys, by Frank W. Dixon

Danean’s son is a big fan of

Mercer Mayer’s Little Critter books, especially

All By Myself

3 responses to “Favorite Children’s Books from my Readers for #CBW15

Leave a Reply

