#NationalPoetryMonth #Review: A Life For Sale, by @thesmboyce

A Life For SaleTitle: A Life for Sale
Author: S.M. Boyce
Rating: 5/5 stars

“A Life For Sale” is a dark and moving poem about a woman with a final, mournful wish for the living, told through the guise of an estate sale. A special link to a recording of the author reading this poem is available in the back of this short eBook.

From the author:

“This piece came to me out of nowhere while I was in the middle of preparing for a cross-country move. I sat down with a powerful sense of sorrow I couldn’t shake, and a poem (of all things!) formed on the pages.

“Between you and me, it’s the only poem I’ve written and actually liked (and I’ve written quite a few that will never see the light of day). It’s a fun side-project. Poems aren’t something I will release very often, or maybe ever again, but I hope you connect with this glimpse into another side of my writing. Enjoy.” (description from Goodreads)

Line curvy

Many know that I’m a big fan of S.M. Boyce’s work. She’s the author of The Grimoire Saga, and it’s become one of my favorite series. But that is prose writing, and A Life for Sale, this is poetry. Not everyone who can write beautiful and engaging prose can switch over to verse with ease, but that’s what Boyce seems to have done.

In her first published poem, Boyce doesn’t show the shaky hand of a first time poet. This poem surprised me with how well it conjured up images of each item “for sale”, along with the memories surrounding them. And the emotions written between the lines shown through expertly, but weren’t overbearing.

I’m not always good at putting my reaction to a poem into words, so I won’t try to elaborate much more. But between reading this poem and then listening to Boyce’s recording (it’s a bonus I wasn’t expecting) at the end of the book, I know A Life for Sale will be a poem I come back to time and time again. I also hope that we’ll see more poetry from Boyce. She’s showed me that she’s not only a master of prose, but can also stand side-by-side with many of my favorite poets.

Line curvy

You can grab this poem from:

Amazon | Smashwords | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

Line curvy

About the Author:

Boyce 300International Amazon Bestseller. Fantasy Author. Twitter addict. Book Blogger. Geek. Sarcastic. Gooey. Odd. Author of the action-packed Grimoire Saga.

S.M. Boyce is a novelist who loves ghosts, magic, and spooky things. She prefers loose-leaf tea, reads far too many books, and is always cold. She’s married to her soul mate and couldn’t be happier. Her B.A. in Creative Writing qualifies her to serve you french fries.

Boyce likes to update her blog a few times each week so that you have something to wake you up in the morning.

Connect with Boyce

Website | Blog | Advice for Writers
Facebook | Twitter | Google +
Pinterest | Youtube | Goodreads
Amazon Page |Smashwords Page

One response to “#NationalPoetryMonth #Review: A Life For Sale, by @thesmboyce

Leave a Reply

