#Review: Roadside Assistance, by @Vaempires

Roadside AssistanceTitle: Roadside Assistance
Author: Thomas Winship
Rating: 4/5 stars

For Hannah, a long trip home seems a small price to pay for a little peace … until her journey takes a turn for the worse. Now, injured and alone, she must test the limits of her courage, endurance, and love.

A short story by the author of the Vaempires series. (description from Goodreads)

D

D

fancy lineresize

I’m glad I picked up this short story. It gave me a chance to find out what Winship’s writing talents really are. Until now, I’d only read two of the three books from the Vaempires series. I loved them. They’re filled with action, great characters, and a great story that I can’t wait to dive back into soon. But Roadside Assistance takes place in the real world. It’s a departure from the sci-fi/paranormal and future setting that the Vaempire series has. I feel that this drastic change, for me as a reader, worked better than some authors can pull off.

The story brings the reader into the head of the main character Hannah during a horrible accident. It’s a great look into how someone’s thought process works in crisis and what the human body can do to overcome life threatening situations. For me, this was a new side of Winship. It’s not present in his series and I admire when an author can show a diversity in writing styles.

I think at a few parts, the pacing didn’t work great for me. But when a story tackles what this one does, a little dragging here and there isn’t a big deal. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the last section, but I did like how the author brought focus to one of the themes that I felt slowly got more and more important to the main character. I wasn’t exactly sure of the outcome of this story, and had many ideas as it progressed. Turns out I was wrong with each expectation, and that’s always a sign of a great story for me.

I’m looking forward to seeing what else Winship ends up writing, whether it’s Vaempire related or another story like this. I think it’ll be a welcomed read, whatever ends up being released.

fancy lineresize

Roadside Assistance is available from:
Amazon 

fancy lineresize

About the Author:

Thomas Winship lives in New York. His first novel, Temporary Insanity, was a 2008 finalist in a national contest but failed to garner industry attention. Væmpires: Revolution, his second novel (first in the Væmpires series) and Væmpires: White Christmas were published in 2011. His latest work, Væmpires: Zombie Rising, was published in late 2012.

He is an avid collector of books, comic books, music, and movies. His interests are diverse: on any given day, Tom is likely to be found watching a horror movie, attending a hard rock concert, or enjoying a Broadway show.

He is currently working on the next installment of the “Væmpires” series.

Find out more:

Leave a Reply

