Story Time Friday Takes a Trip to Mars

Story Time Friday Banner

fancy lineresize

A Poet on Mars

by Robert Zimmermann 

Will they need a poet on Mars?
When that first manned ship arrives,
with its crew specializing in
a range of scientific fields,
who’ll paint the landscape
with words?

Who among them will take a
picture to capture mankind’s first
steps on our nearest planetary neighbor?
Will the images be enough?

Even with our high definition
cameras and our almost instantaneous
data feeds, can those back at home
feel the rusty soil?
Can they lift up a nearby boulder
with little effort?
How’ll the camera capture the fear
of wearing only a bulky suit of armor
to defend against the death outside?

Who’ll be there to carry out
humanity’s greatest asset
to the human condition?
Who’ll be that poet of Mars?
When the ship lands and the words
flow out of the new frontier,
I hope there is someone to
interpret them.

fancy lineresize

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip on in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

 

8 responses to “Story Time Friday Takes a Trip to Mars

      • They have people wanting to do it. I’m surprised because they aren’t ever coming back, even a woman who’s been married for twenty years. I love things about space, I’m not trying to go up though. I can’t imagine not coming back! I’m definitely looking forward to seeing what they see if they go though.

        • Not coming back? I don’t think they’re planning suicide missions. They just need to develop technologies that’ll allow for the carrying of fuel to get back to Earth. Rocket fuel won’t cut it though. There’s a lot of different options if we can make it happen. A space launch from the orbit of each planet would be most efficient (shoot up to a space station in orbit, then head off from there. Going out of atmosphere’s where most of the fuel’s wasted. It’s a long time until we colonize another planet, so I don’t think there’s a plan to leave people there for longer than a period of time waiting for the planets to be close…unless you’ve seen something I haven’t. I’m not completely up to date on things 🙂

          • I’ve seen interviews where they were saying they’re not coming back, maybe I heard it wrong. I still would like to see what happens with this program before I’m gone. The pictures they get from there should be out of this world ( Ha Ha)…

  1. Pingback: Story Time Friday Takes a Trip to Mars | Purplerose123's Blog

Leave a Reply

