Story Time Friday: Transcending, Balance

Story Time Friday Banner

fancy lineresizeYou’ll see that there’s a few posts on the blog today. It’s not a normal Friday with a new Story Time Friday post to share. It’s also a very special release day: Turtle Bay by Tiffany King has been released. I do hope you all check out that book, and other King novels. Long time readers of the blog will know how much I enjoy her work. You might also recall the review of this new release that I posted last month. I’ve reposted that today as well to make people can find it if they want to read it.

It’s because of this release that I choose to share a rewrite of an old poem. Turtle Bay takes place in a beach town in Florida and with that comes some mention of surfing. It’s only natural. When reading it, I was reminded of a time back in 2007 when I went on a trip to Virginia Beach with a friend’s family. It was my first time that close to the ocean, and the first time I had the chance to try surfing. I got my ass handed to me the first time out. It probably wasn’t the best day to get out there for the first time, but in the end, the rough conditions gave me a head start in respecting the ocean. Later that day I wrote this poem. I’ve revamped it a lot, and think it fits my current writing style a bit more, while still portraying all the old sentiments.

I hope you enjoy it. I also hope you check out King’s book. And if you ever get a chance to get on a board, take it. Even getting throttled by the waves can be a great experience.

fancy lineresize

Trancending, Balance

by Robert Zimmermann 

Peaceful moments viewed from the shore.
Rolling waters, a beautiful scene.
Every now and every then,
a calmer moment, a glassy sheen.

Step in, push out, paddle, float.
Go up, go down, over, through.

The Ocean is your master.
Her will, your command.
She comes, full-throttle,
graceful as a dove
raging like a bull
You get slammed and roll,
only to surface
with a smile.

You know she owns you,
that you can only admire her.
This is when you are worthy.
Humbled, full of respect.
Given authority to ride her waves.

fancy lineresize

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip on in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

 

Leave a Reply

