M/M Recommendations from @Christina_Lee04

A long while back, I put out an open call to have authors send in recommendations for their favorite diverse books. There are so many great books out there to be discovered that feature characters, situations, and stories that aren’t the “norm” of the book world. This “norm” is becoming a thing of the past (not as fast as it would be nice to see), but I feel, and many in the book community feel, that there needs to be some more awareness given to diversity in books, be it diversity of race, sexual orientation, geographic location, or any other number of things that isn’t represented to readers as often as…well, you get the point.

The first author to take part in this diversity push for A Life Among the Pages is Christina Lee. You may remember seeing my review of her book Promise Me This late last year. Today, instead of hearing me talk about one of her books, I’ll be sharing a list of recommendations Christina put together that feature male/male relationships. This seems fitting because M/M books originally sparked the idea for these posts before I expanded my call for recs. I have many of these on my TBR already, and hope some may catch your attention.

(Before you get to Christina’s recommendations, if you’d like to recommend some of your own favorite diverse books, please feel free to send them on. Please do so using the contact form found near the top of the page.)

fancy lineresize

I’ll only speak about male/male romances (as opposed to other kinds of diverse books) since I’ve read several in the past year.

Diverse books in general open up a new world view which is so essential to becoming a well-rounded human being, especially emotionally.

Because empathy goes a long way in the real world. It humanizes others for us and there are few things that are more important.

To be honest, it was really HARD to narrow this list down to just five b/c I can always take something away from a book that I’ve read. So I selected TEN! Sorry not sorry. 😉

I chose the following books according to how they made me feel and whether or not they stayed on my mind long after–because of  the plot, the characters, or the romance.

fancy lineresize

A Forbidden Rumspringa by Keira Andrews

With the Band by L.A. Witt

The Understatement of the Year by Sarina Bowen

Fall for Me by Ann Lister

Collide by Riley Hart

The Backup Boyfriend by River Jaymes

Try by Ella Frank

Red Dirt Heat by N.R. Walker

Ethan by Nicole Edwards

In Too Deep by Kate Sherwood

BONUS: Rush by Nyrae Dawn

BONUS: Trust the Focus by Megan Erickson (releases in March)

– Hey look at that. Looks like Christina couldn’t contain herself and sent in two more recs for her list 😉

fancy lineresizeBefore you go, here’s a little bit about Christina Lee’s own M/M romance, There You Stand, which comes out in April.

There You StandFrom the author of All of You and Before You Break comes a new Between Breaths romance about the silent, inked up skateboarder and the tattoo artist who unravels him piece by piece…

Tattoo artist Cory Easton has worked long enough at Raw Ink to know, just by looking at a dude, what his body art reveals, what makes him tick, what even makes him scared. Until he meets the quiet and remote Jude York—so unreadable, so unreachable, and so unlike anyone else, he can’t help but arouse Cory’s curiosity.

As captivating and complex as his ink, Jude is a mystery—and Cory’s falling fast and hard under his spell. Against his better judgment to steer clear.

The rumors of Jude’s past overshadow him—whispers of prison and an unmentionable secret that’s kept him in the protective shadows of a local motorcycle club. As Cory probes deeper, he wonders how much he really wants to know. Especially since Jude has awakened something inside him that has been buried too long—and has him feeling completely alive for the first time in forever…

fancy lineresize

GOODREADS

fancy lineresize

Pre-order There You Stand from:

Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

fancy lineresize

About the Author:

Christina LeeOnce upon a time, I lived in New York City and was a fashion stylist. I spent my days shopping for photo shoots, getting into cabs, eating amazing food, and drinking coffee at my favorite hangouts.

Now I live in the Midwest with my husband and son—my two favorite guys. I’ve been a clinical social worker and a special education teacher. But it wasn’t until I wrote a weekly column for the local newspaper that I realized I could turn the fairytales inside my head into the reality of writing fiction.

I’m addicted to lip gloss and salted caramel everything. I believes in true love and kissing, so writing romance novels has become a dream job.

I write Adult and New Adult steamy contemporary romance. I am represented by Sara Megibow of the Nelson Literary Agency.

I also own a hand-stamped jewelry business, which requires me to stamp letters and/or words onto pieces of silver. They go hand-in-hand perfectly.

Find out more:

2 responses to “M/M Recommendations from @Christina_Lee04

  1. Pingback: Story Time Friday…About Fences | A Life Among The Pages

  2. Pingback: Themed #Book Recommendations: @Chel_C_Cam’s F/F Book Picks | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

