Story Time Friday – Forever, Home (a poem)

Story Time Friday Banner

fancy lineresize

a poem by Robert Zimmermann

fancy lineresize

Forever, Home

I.

I’ve been going around
and around in circiles,
in these, woods for
hours. Maybe days?

I’m so lost.
I don’t even know
my way home—
not that I’d go
back there.

It’s a good thing
that I like ropes so much.
It was hard to chew
through that one.

Now I’m free.

II.

Water.
Yum, yum.
That was good water.
And those berries,
yum.
I haven’t eaten like
that in a long time.

I’m so tired of walking
around all day, though.
These trees aren’t as

friendly in the dark
and the sun’s going down.

Maybe if I walk
a little longer, I’ll find
somewhere to rest.

III.

What’s that?
The sun’s gone
but I see the sun.

No, that’s not the sun.
It’s a light and
that’s a house.

Are those voices?
PEOPLE!
PEOPLE! PEOPLE! PEOPLE!

They have food!
It’s so good.
And this water!
Nice, cold water.
They’re petting me.
This feels so good.
PET ME! PET ME!

These people are
so nice I think
I’ll keep them.

IV.

It’s be a long
day…days…
maybe weeks?
It doesn’t matter
anymore.

My tummy is
not growly anymore
and I’m in an actual
house! I’m allowed
inside.

I think I’ve found
my people.
I’ve keep them forever.

fancy lineresize

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip on in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

3 responses to “Story Time Friday – Forever, Home (a poem)

Leave a Reply

