Story Time Friday with poet @LilyLuchesi

Story Time Friday Banner

fancy lineresize

Poetry by Lily Luchesi

fancy lineresize

The Darkness Inside

Wake up
You’re dead
What do you do now?
Caught between
The angel on your shoulder
And the demon at your back
Where do you run to?
Who do you have to turn to?
Are you all alone?

You lived your life for everyone else
(Your father. Your brother. Your mother.)
Will you get it back in death?
Your guardian angel can’t save you now
No, you’re too far gone
Will you miss him when he turns away,
Or will you not care even if he stays?

What does the future hold for you,
Endless nights of pain?
Limitless, endless
Darkness that goes on and on
Are you lost or right at home, my dear?
I always thought that you were the hero of this story
The winner in this deadly game

You’ve got a light that shines through
The darkness inside of you
Grasp that
Hold onto it
Before it’s ripped away
Shine your light through the darkness
Forced upon you
Let your angel in
Let your light back in

fancy lineresize

On The Edge Of Sanity

All my life
I’ve been good
So good
Never straying from the path
Quiet and polite
A shy thing
“You’re such a good girl”
They say
Of course I am
Too scared to be anything but
My heart buried beneath a protective shell
Nobody notices me
Lost in the crowd
Can’t remember the last time I
Raised my voice
Spoke up for what I wanted
I lost so much that way
I’m still mourning a love that never happened
A love that could’ve happened
Had I only spoken up when I had the chance
Maybe he’d be here right now

But every day is a chance at
A new life
Turning over that old leaf
Start again
Make me new
I don’t want to be
The girl no one notices anymore
A part of the dreary scenery
Twenty-one years of hiding
Social anxiety-crippled
Shy little thing
So sweet, so forgettable
I want to live large
Live loud
Maybe then
Someone will remember me

Even the men I’ve liked
Sweet and normal
Well, I’m sick of normal
I want to start a fire in someone’s soul
I don’t want to be benign anymore
Life is about living
I want to rake my nails down your skin
Watch as you scream my name
Never forget it, baby
You’ll be saying it again and again
With a caseful of booze
And the one I choose
Baby, you’re not going to lose
Anything but your mind
Have I lost my mind?

I can’t follow your thoughts but that’s okay
I can’t follow mine any better
How about one last night
Before we all go and lose ourselves
In the corporate shithole we’ve come to know as
“Adult life”
We’re young and free and it’s our time
Come on with me
You’re a winner in my eyes
Let me drown in your eyes
I’m sure you’ll catch me
You’ll play hero this time
Lunacy sounds better than sanity these days
Let’s go there tonight
On the fringe of horrible sanity
I don’t want to go back to that place
Take me with you
Let me drown with you in your eyes
Into an unknown abyss
Danger is my friend
I’m my own enemy
You’re my knight in dirt-stained armor
My prince on a black horse

fancy lineresize

If you’ve like to read more of Lily’s work, you can find

Aftermath, a poem, in The Struggle Anthology

Amazon | B&N (print only)

and

Kill ‘Em With Kindness, a short story, in Wishingful Thinking Anthology

Amazon

fancy lineresize

Also, FREE debut short story The Ghost’s Guitar: http://peoplewritethings.wordpress.com/2014/09/03/the-ghosts-guitar/

fancy lineresize

About the Author:

Lily Luchesi is an aspiring, young author/poet born in Chicago, Illinois, now residing in Los Angeles, California. Ever since she was a toddler her mother noticed her tendency for being interested in all things “dark”. At two she became infatuated with vampires and ghosts, and that infatuation turned into a lifestyle by the time she was twelve, and, as her family has always been what they now call “Gothic”, she doesn’t believe she shall ever change. She is also a hopeless romantic and avid music-lover, and will always associate vampires with love, blood and rock and roll. Her interest in poetry came around the same time as when she was given a book of Edgar Allan Poe’s complete work. She then realized that she had been writing her own poetry since she could hold a pen, and just had not known the correct terms. She finished her first manuscript at the age of fourteen, and now, at twenty-one, has two contributing credits in anthologies (listed below) and her debut novel, “Stake-Out”, will be published by Vamptasy Publishing on May 19, 2015.

Find out more:

fancy lineresize

How to Submit:

For those who wish to be part of Story Time Friday in the near future, you can send submissions to the email address that I formerly used for review requests (but don’t anymore since I’m retired . . . don’t try to be clever and slip one in 😛 ): miztrebor88@gmail.com. Be sure to use the subject “Story Time Friday Submission” and send your piece as an attachment (.doc/.docx would be best). Any other questions, feel free to comment here or contact me through the blog’s contact form.

Hope to hear from some writers soon!

2 responses to “Story Time Friday with poet @LilyLuchesi

Leave a Reply

