#Review: Heartless (Episode 1), by @RealJSterling

Heartless Ep 1Title: Heartless (Episode 1 of 3)
Author: J. Sterling
Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Elizabeth Lyons has one rule for herself: No Distractions.

No distractions basically translates into No Men; which definitely means HELL NO when it comes to Daniel Alexander.

After a chance meeting at a professional function Daniel is not interested in letting Elizabeth go. No matter how much Elizabeth tries to stay away from Daniel, he’s not the kind of guy who lets something he wants walk out of his life. The question is, will she let him catch her?

This is a SERIAL ROMANCE told over 3 episodes. The first episode is approximately a 90-minute read. (description from Goodreads)

fancy lineresize

Because this is the first of three episodes for Sterling’s Heartless serial, what the reader gets in this installment isn’t a full story. Though, to the author’s credit, she was able to bring the story to a good cutoff point. There’s enough in this episode to hook the reader and to be interested in continuing. I don’t feel like it was an abrupt cut, like I’ve found in many other serials. I’ll be one of the readers grabbing the next installment when it’s released.

I enjoyed Elizabeth’s voice and her character. She’s strong and knows what she wants. She also knows what she doesn’t want and is very conscious about her decisions. What threw me off in this story is the few sections that were from Daniel’s point of view. I don’t mind a dual POV story, sometimes this is the only way to get a better look at what’s going on. My issue was Daniel’s voice in his sections. When it was Elizabeth’s POV, she told the story as well as what she was thinking. For Daniel, I felt it was too much of him trying to convince the reader that he wasn’t a bad guy, and wasn’t trying to get into her pants. At this point of the story, this didn’t add anything to the story. It only threw me out of the flow Elizabeth had set up. Daniel wasn’t saying anything that we didn’t see from Elizabeth’s POV. If his POV did more to drive the story forward, I could excuse his obsession with getting us to think he’s good, even though he admits he’s thinking with the wrong head for the most part.

I’m hoping that in the next episode, Daniel’s attitude will tone down a bit, and we’ll get to see who he actually is and whether or not he has more in mind than having sex with this woman he just met. Either that, or just less of Daniel’s POV and sticking to Elizabeth where I felt the story had more strength.

fancy lineresize

You can grab a copy of this first episode of Heartless from:

Amazon | Kobo | B&N

Coming Soon…

Episode 2 – 10/27/14

Episode 3 – 11/03/14

fancy lineresize

About the Author:

I got fired from my last job. It’s true. I know you’re sitting there thinking “Jenn, how could anyone in their right mind fire someone as amazing and awesome as you???” And i’d love to give you a good reason, but the truth is- being this awesome is clearly very scary to other less awesome people.

So I said screw them and started writing my first book. And you know what I realized? Writing books that mean something to me is a million times better than working for my ass off for someone who doesn’t really care about anything other than the bottom line.

My soul feels more satisfied.
My heart, more full.

So thank you for reading, loving and recommending the stories I write.
I appreciate it more than you know. 🙂

Find out more:

Leave a Reply

