ARC #Review: Illusion, by @thesmboyce

IllusionTitle: Illusion (The Grimoire Sage #4)
Author: S.M. Boyce
Rating: 5/5 star

The final chapter in the war for Ourea ends with blood.

Kara Magari is an icon. A hero. The people love her. The royalty tolerates her. She has everything—an army, allies, and a close circle of chosen family. They believe she will end the war, and they shouldn’t. She’s as scared as they are. She just can’t show it.

The war she accidentally started ends with a final battle that will either save or enslave her people. She will do anything to win—until she learns the cost of victory.

Braeden Drakonin is afraid of what he’ll become when he takes over his father’s kingdom—that much authority can change a man. But his father has already tried to kill him more than once, and it’s time to end his reign. Braeden’s armies are ready. His strategy is foolproof. His generals are waiting for the order to attack. It’s only in the final seconds before the battle begins that he realizes he missed one crucial detail—the traitor. (description from Goodreads)

Grimoire Pendant copyGrimoire Pendant copyGrimoire Pendant copy

For those who’ve followed my reviews for the last few years, The Grimoire Saga is probably a series you’re aware of. Anyone who isn’t sure what The Grimoire Saga is, I suggest avoiding reading this review further. Illusion is the fourth and final book in the series. It’s going to be difficult to avoid spoilers of books 1-3. If you’re interested though, you can find links to grab a copy of book one, Lichgates, below. That book’s free, by the way. Always a great way to try out a series.

Here are my reviews of the previous books for those not caught up:

Lichgates (#1) | Treason (#2) | Heritage (#3)

Grimoire Pendant copyGrimoire Pendant copyGrimoire Pendant copy

This might be the hardest review I’ve had to write so far in my reviewing “career”. Illusion is book fourth of The Grimoire Saga, and I was both excited and sad to read this last book of the series. I’ve been following Kara, the main character, on her journey through the beautiful and dangerous world of Ourea since early 2012. After reading the first book, Lichgates (please ignore the very basic, dated layout for my reviews. It was one of my first.), I knew I was hooked, but with each book that came out I was drawn in more and more. This is hands down my favorite book series, and S.M. Boyce will stay on my top authors list for years to come. I have no doubt about that.

I could do a close review of this, but I fear saying too much about the plot and outcome. So much happens in this book to tie up the many loose ends that weave through this series. There is a long awaited epic battle, twists and turns, joy and dismay. This book has everything long time fans have felt the series building up to. To say that I’m pleased with the way the author ended things would be an understatement. It can’t be easy to create a satisfying ending to an epic like The Grimoire Saga, but I felt it was the way it should all work out.

Boyce’s writing continues to gain strength with each book, and Illusion is no exception. Her world of Ourea is just as complex and beautiful as when I first was thrown into it with Kara in the first book. Much of this book takes place in the Steleian Kingdom, a place we’ve only seen glimpses of before. I feel that even in the midst of the concluding battle, the kingdom was painted with a skill I’ve grown to admire. I also found it surprising when the story took on different character viewpoints. For most of this series, the chapters are from either Kara or Braeden’s POV, with few exceptions. For reasons obvious to those reading the book, these two POVs would have limited a battle as big as what takes place in this book. What was the surprising part is that even with just a chapter or two from the POV of more minor characters (and more impressively from characters, the vagabonds, we know almost nothing about) the author was able to keep me in the story, develop that character in a short time, and get me invested in this part of the larger story. It was a change in style overall, but not a jarring or out-of-place change.

I could go on and on about how much I loved this book, and as a whole this series, but I’d rather leave it at what I’ve said already. I’m sad that the series is over. Happiness and sadness fell over me when I finished the last line, but isn’t that what great books should do? There is a light at the end of the tunnel, as well. It’s only about a year until fans of Ourea have to wait for a spin-off series The Ourean Chornicles. I’m looking forward to reading about some of my favorite characters in their own books.

Grimoire Pendant copyGrimoire Pendant copyGrimoire Pendant copy

This book releases November 4th. You can pre-order Illusion from:

You can now purchase your copy from:

Amazon | Smashwords | Kobo | B&N | iBooks

Grimoire Pendant copyGrimoire Pendant copyGrimoire Pendant copy

If you still need to begin the journey….

LICHGATES (Book One) FREE on:

Amazon |  Smashwords | Kobo | B&N | iBooks

Grimoire Pendant copyGrimoire Pendant copyGrimoire Pendant copy

About the Author:

Boyce 300International Amazon Bestseller. Fantasy Author. Twitter addict. Book Blogger. Geek. Sarcastic. Gooey. Odd. Author of the action-packed Grimoire Saga.

S.M. Boyce is a novelist who loves ghosts, magic, and spooky things. She prefers loose-leaf tea, reads far too many books, and is always cold. She’s married to her soul mate and couldn’t be happier. Her B.A. in Creative Writing qualifies her to serve you french fries.

Boyce likes to update her blog a few times each week so that you have something to wake you up in the morning.

Connect with Boyce

Website | Blog | Advice for Writers
Facebook | Twitter | Google +
Pinterest | Youtube | Goodreads
Amazon Page |Smashwords Page

4 responses to “ARC #Review: Illusion, by @thesmboyce

  1. Pingback: 2014, A Year in Review(s) | A Life Among The Pages

  2. Pingback: #NewRelease: The COMPLETE Grimoire Saga, by @TheSMBoyce | A Life Among The Pages

  3. Pingback: #NewRelease: The Misanthrope, by @thesmboyce | A Life Among The Pages

  4. Pingback: An Epic Sale on an #EpicFantasy Favorite and a New #Podcast from @thesmboyce | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

