Fan Interview #1 – @cerebraltart interviews Me

For the last few weeks, I’ve been asking my readers to send in questions that they’ve been wanting to ask me. They could be about me as an author, a blogger, or even me as a reader. Almost anything goes.

So far, the response hasn’t been that big, but I’m hoping that now that September is here and that I’m posting my responses to these questions, more people will send some good ones in. I really think this can be both fun and informative and ultimately, a great addition to the blog.

If you’d like to send in some questions, I’d be happy to answer them. Here’s the original post looking for them if you’d like to check that out and find out how to send in the questions.

Thanks in advance, and thank you to those who’ve already asked some great things.

fancy lineresize

Today’s interviewer is author India Reid. You can find more about her on her website, TwitterFacebook, and Goodreads

When did you first start to feel like a “real” writer?

I’m not sure really. I think there have been a few times in my writing life where I’ve had different levels of “I’m a writer” in my mind. After writing my first poem in 11th grade was when I first felt like I’m some sort of a poet. However, it wasn’t until after I graduated my first college that I even considered myself a writer enough to pursue getting better at it. That’s when I started working on my creative writing degree. The program itself didn’t make me feel like I was a writer until late in the game. I blame that on the education system, not the CW professors or department at all. There was just a lack of time for those IMPORTANT courses when each student was required to complete so many other classes outside of their major. A big “I’m a writer” moment was sometime in my last semester of college, I think. When I was working on what would later expand to be From Where I Stand and getting feedback from my professor on my work. It felt like I was “really doing it”. My stuff was good and had potential to be better. It also helped that in that course we had to organize a public reading of a bit of what we were working on. Getting a reaction from a nice sized audience was probably what I needed all along for me to feel like I was doing something great.

How often do you write?

I wish I could say I write every day. I used to back in high school and early in college. I’d write at least a poem (whether it was good or bad) every day or multiple times a day. Lately (the last year or so) I seem to be in a BIG funk. I keep wanting to sit down and write something, but nothing happens. I need to fix that big time. I need a good kick in the ass probably and to not just accept that inspiration hasn’t hit yet. The dry spell has lasted too long.

What’s your word count per day like?

I don’t write like that and to be honest, I don’t think I’ll ever write with a word count goal of any sort. It seems to be the only way some writers work, but for me, I’ll either write a lot or a little, but all that matters is that I wrote and it’s semi-usable material.

Part of this might be because I write poetry a majority of the time, too. You can’t really put a word count on that form of writing. I have some poems that are only 30 words, but they can get a better reaction from my audience than another poem that’s 200 words. I tend to write shorter poems anyway. If I were to have a “goal” for a day, I think I’d be safer setting a goal like “edit X poems per work day”. It wouldn’t even be about writing them, but reworking them. That’s where the real work comes in for me after I’ve gotten it down on paper.

Leave a Reply

