Death Rattle, a #shortstory by Kristen Roedel

Here’s another piece from Kristen Roedel to check out. I’m about to read it now, but feel confident enough to bring it to your attention first. I have no doubt it’ll be great.

Kristen Roedel

“We need to talk.”

I folded newspaper in half and peered over the Times. The young sun beat through the windows with unusual intensity. Flecks of orange danced in Annabel’s shifting hazel eyes. The bluebird, which had built a nest outside of our kitchen window a few weeks ago, announced the start of the day. Annabel wrung her hands, her elbows on the table, and hid her mouth behind them.

“What’s wrong?” I asked, giving her my undivided attention.

“I want a divorce.”

I’d downed my last gulp of coffee minutes ago, and yet it threatened to spew everywhere as if it had barely been swallowed.

“Wh—,” I managed to croak. I dropped my paper. I opened my mouth to speak, but no words came. The sunlight bounced off the mirror I’d recently hung in the foyer, catching my attention. We looked like a detective and suspect in an…

View original post 4,434 more words

Leave a Reply

