My Challenge for May – Wuthering Heights

For the last week of April, I opened up my TBR to my fans. Since April was a month of poetry for National Poetry Month, I wanted to keep up some sort of “theme” for May as well. I decided to ask you all to suggest a classic book that I hadn’t read before, but should. When the results came in (though there were very few results to speak of…help me out more next time folks šŸ˜› ) Emily Bronte’sĀ Wuthering Heights won the voting!

Now sinceĀ that was set in motion, it’s May 24th. I have seven days left of the month. How far did I make it in Bronte’s masterpiece? HA, let me allow my Facebook “updates” to tell the tale so far…

Line curvy

May 3
Since you voted that I should be reading Wuthering Heights this month, who wants to read it with me? We can all read it, and do a little write-up (or full review if you want). Post either when you finish or at the end of the month. Then we can all talk about it like we’re back in school. Who’s up for that? Book report time?

fancy lineresize

May 3
WH Update #1Since my readers voted for me to read #WutheringHeights in May, I guess I should get a few chapters in, today. And yes it does look like she has a black eye. It’s not a trick of the light.

fancy lineresize

May 3
Wuthering Heights, my first reaction: After 3 pages, I’m beginning to think I don’t have a grasp on the English language. Also, I could rewrite these few pages into ONE paragraph, and I doubt anything would be lost.

ONWARD! (But slowly )

fancy lineresize

May 3
Wuthering Heights, update 2: I’m so glad I don’t live back in the 1840-50s. They people should just come out and SAY SOMETHING. They talk about everything BUT what they want to say, mean to say, and end up misunderstanding each other because they can’t just be like “Well, then who is this young man? I’m a stranger to your house and don’t know your family.” Instead, this guy is assuming things, and Heathcliff can’t just be like “He is X. This young woman is Y.” Stop wasting my time with this guessing game shit

(By the way, I’m on page 12. I started reading over an hour ago.)

fancy lineresize

May 4
WH Update #2Maybe I can finish chapter two now. The coffee might help…maybe. #wutheringheights

fancy lineresize

May 4
I think that’s enough reading for tonight. Read almost 200 pages in 24 hours…not much for some people, but almost twice a normal “hard day of reading” for me. And no, this isn’t another Wuthering Heights update, haha. I’m not THAT into the book yet Planned on reading some of it today, but this book’s better and going to (hopefully) be finished tomorrow, then WH will be opened again.

fancy lineresize

May 6
In honor of my reading of Wuthering Heights this month, here’s an entertaining video to watch, rewatch, and share with your friend(s).

fancy lineresize

May 6
Here’s another Bronte related video to check out. Makes me wish Linda’s book was real.

fancy lineresize

May 9
Wuthering Heights Update: It’s May 9th…and I’ve read an entire three chapters (28 pages in my copy), haha. If you’re reading WH this month along with me, how far are you? Are you enjoying it?

Don’t worry, I think I’ll be reading some more today. I haven’t given up…yet.

fancy lineresize

*Yikes…what happened to all the days in here? Well, check the next update, haha.*

fancy lineresize

May 20
Wuthering Heights Update: Fuck…on page 75/308 and have roughly 10 days left of the month. Doesn’t seem like a lot to read in 10 days, but remember that today’s the 20th, and I started on the 1st.

I only had to read about 10 pages a day for the month to finish the book. Instead, it’s averaging 3.75/day (though, it’s more like a few chapters one day, then NOTHING for a few days, haha). Now, I have to read 23.3 pages a day to finish. I CAN do it, but the book hasn’t motivated me to

I’ll do my best though.

Let’s get a book for next month! What’re you going to suggest for me, readers? I already told a few people I’m going to read Gone Girl in June…maybe you’ll be kind and suggest that to not oppose them I’ll set up a poll with the books suggested and post it tomorrow.

fancy lineresize

May 20
Wuthering Heights Update: I think, after some thinking, I’ll be switching to the audiobook to finish the book. I was doing my best to actually READ this classic because I really only listen to most classics now. They’re easier for me to enjoy and finish that way. I wanted to not do that this time, but I admit defeat.

So…most likely I’ll be starting the audio (from where I left off reading) tomorrow and I should have this book read by the end of the week. I DO foresee a good discussion blog post on this no matter the outcome And in the end, that was part of why I wanted to read a classic this month.

Line curvy

Where does this all leave me in Wuthering Heights, dear reader? As of typing this, I’m on page 142 of 308 which is Chapter 15 of 34 (just under halfway in the book). I have a week left in the month and, as you saw in the updates, switched to audio. The reading is obviously going faster, but my interest still hasn’t grown any. I WILL finish this book and at the end, I’ll be posting a review of sorts. But be warned, it will be spoilery and not exactly a review. I’ll most likely be picking it apart and discussing what wasn’t working for me, as well as comparing it to the erotic retelling I read last year by I.J. Miller, Wuthering NightsĀ since it’s really the only thing I can compare this too and I think it’s one of the only reasons I didn’t just putĀ WH down after the first few days.

I know it should get “better” soon, but maybe it won’t. We’ll have to see. I know many of my fans and fellow authors have loved the book, even calling it one of their favorites. I’m sure this will help make my “review” of the book a lively discussion in the comments on that post.

Until then, happy reading!

P.S. – Yes, I’ve been harsh on the book and I know it was written a long time ago with different customs, styles of writing, etc. My approach to this is as a modern reader who’s still trying to get a grasp on what made these books classics and transcendent of time. So far this one’s not helping its case. Plus, I like adding a little humor into my “reviews” when I can. Much easier to do when the author’s been dead for a couple hundred years (less than 200? I should look that up).

Leave a Reply

