A Storied Week – Week Nine

A Storied Week

line-37709

Four stories this week. Yea, I slacked off a bit this week…or did I?

I may have only read four short stories this week, and really only two short stories and (speed through) two almost page-long things, but it was a productive reading week, if I do say so myself.

I spent the first half of the week enjoying The Borrower by Rebecca Makkai. Since some point last year I’ve been finding it hard to get into novels, stick with them, and enjoy them through to the end. That being said, I am currently reading some great novels, but I feel like I can easily be distracted from them and come back where I left off. With The Borrower I knew I was in it until I finished (and even slowed my pace a little to prolong the enjoyment). It hooked me from the beginning and ended up being a great book. Click on the title at the top of this paragraph if you’d like to see my mediocre review for the book. I had trouble saying anything to do it justice, haha.

I also reread (through audio at least) Hatchet by Gary Paulsen. It was a book I read years ago in school, but wanted to reread in order to read the rest of the series this year. I’m so glad I read it again. I picked up on many things my younger mind didn’t the first time. It’s a great book, and you should check it out if you have kids or even if you don’t. Since that was a 3 hour audiobook, I think it sort of counts for a 5th short story, right? I did listen to it all of today (Friday).

Well, that’s all that this week brought in terms of reading. Check out my mini reviews below, and please (since no one has yet) comment with some stories that you have read this week or recently. Or if you’d just like to suggest some stories, please do that as well. If that’s the case, take a look at this POST, maybe you can help me out with some mini-challenges.

line-37709

Simon Says, by Rachel McClellan

(review originally posted here)

591ae08996363b13dbef9740252a59e831353f78This was a fun and creepy story. Michael and his family are basically slaves to a demons named Simon. They must kill twice a year when he meets with them, or else they’ll suffer for not doing as he says. This year, though, Michael doesn’t want to go through with it, he doesn’t believe Simon’s even real. To him, it’s all a twisted game.

Is it?

I thought the whole premise was great and I enjoyed how the story unfolded. It’s a great short read with a shocking outcome. I do wish to get more detail about a few things, but it’s not due to the lack of anything in the story. It’s just my curiosity getting the best of me…a sign of great writing, I’d say.

line-37709

Writing to Heal, by L.D. Gliddon

(review originally posted here)

Writing to HealFor a short story, Writing to Heal has a lot going for it. It’s a touching story of a man, Peter, sitting down to type up the story of his life. The reader knows from the beginning that it won’t have a happy ending.

I spent most of my time waiting to be punched in the stomach, so to speak, with this character’s tragedy. It didn’t disappoint in that way.

The writing of the story, itself, was  a bit off, for me. It tripped me up a few times when reading. The use of the passive voice occurred very often, which disrupted the flow, in my opinion. There were also a few other minor issues, that another proofread could fix, that added up in the end.

But still, in the end a reader will very likely be drawn into Peter’s life story, and cry along side him by the end.

line-37709

A Fable, by Mark Twain

Text | Audio

Like fables should, this story has talking animals and a moral at the end. The moral was a good one, though I was more focused on the humor of the story. For a quick Twain read, it was a light, amusing few minutes.

line-37709

A beautiful description…, by Jane Austen

Text

This was another short “fragment” story from the early works of Jane Austen. At first I didn’t think there was much to the story because it wasn’t going anywhere really, but then it did.

The doctor character shoes up to check in on the invalid, Melissa. The dialogue exchanged between those two and the other characters adds some unexpected humor to the piece and made me want to read more (even if it wasn’t there).

line-37709

Have you read any short stories this week? Do you know of any short stories to suggest to me or my readers? Feel free to share your thoughts and recommendations in the comments on this post or more privately through the contact page, if you want you’d like to type something longer up.

One response to “A Storied Week – Week Nine

Leave a Reply

