#Review: The Borrower, by @RebeccaMakkai

Title: The BorrowerThe Borrower
Author: Rebecca Makkai
Rating: 5/5 stars

In this delightful, funny, and moving first novel, a librarian and a young boy obsessed with reading take to the road. 

Lucy Hull, a young children’s librarian in Hannibal, Missouri, finds herself both a kidnapper and kidnapped when her favorite patron, ten- year-old Ian Drake, runs away from home. The precocious Ian is addicted to reading, but needs Lucy’s help to smuggle books past his overbearing mother, who has enrolled Ian in weekly antigay classes with celebrity Pastor Bob. Lucy stumbles into a moral dilemma when she finds Ian camped out in the library after hours with a knapsack of provisions and an escape plan. Desperate to save him from Pastor Bob and the Drakes, Lucy allows herself to be hijacked by Ian. The odd pair embarks on a crazy road trip from Missouri to Vermont, with ferrets, an inconvenient boyfriend, and upsetting family history thrown in their path. But is it just Ian who is running away? Who is the man who seems to be on their tail? And should Lucy be trying to save a boy from his own parents?” (description from Goodreads)

line-37709

It’s not often I come across a book that I enjoyed so much, but can’t really write down words to convey my reaction. Instead of trying to write my review right away, I’ve given it a few days. I let the book play over in my head. I’m happy to say that the story is still fresh in my mind and I almost want to reread it already.

Makkai have written an incredible début novel. The Borrower is filled with a cast of diverse and enjoyable characters, a mild suspense that keeps a reader flipping page after page, and a coming of age story of a unique sort.

Not only is this an enchanting tale of Lucy and Ian’s cross-country trip/run from the law, it’s also a coming of age story about Lucy finding out about herself, her family, and contemplating something as large as the our nation of runaways. There are many different levels to pick this book apart from and each is as well-written as the others.

I probably didn’t say much helpful in this review, but as I said, it’s hard to put my reaction into words for this book. Lucy and Ian are great characters, I was sad that this book didn’t have another 300 pages of them on an adventure. But I’m pleased with everything I read. Makkai will definitely be added to my list of favorite authors, even after reading only her début novel.

line-37709

You can grab a copy of this book from:

Amazon | B&N | Kobo

line-37709

Fun extras:

Here’s a fun list to look at. A reader took the time to write down a majority of the books mentioned in The Borrower. This was a great thing for me to find because when I first started reading the book I felt the need to write down each book mentioned. That was slowing down my reading considerably, haha. So if you’re curious to see what books Lucy the librarian mentions in her story, here they are:

The Borrower Book List

I’d also like to take a second and mention the Books on the Nightstand Podcast. I was listening to an episode back in December and they mentioned this book. It’s a brief mention, but just enough to make me want to find a copy…so I did.

Episode #138

line-37709

About the Author:

Rebecca Makkai is a Chicago-based writer whose second novel,The Hundred-Year House, will be available from Viking/Penguin in summer, 2014. Her first novel, The Borrower, is a Booklist Top Ten Debut, an Indie Next pick, an O Magazine selection, and one of Chicago Magazine‘s choices for best fiction of 2011. Her short fiction has been chosen for The Best American Short Stories for four consecutive years (2011, 2010, 2009 and 2008), and appears regularly in journals like Harper’sTin HousePloughshares, andNew England Review.

Find out more:

3 responses to “#Review: The Borrower, by @RebeccaMakkai

  1. Pingback: A Storied Week – Week Nine | A Life Among The Pages

  2. Pingback: #ARC #Review: The Hundred-Year House, by @RebeccaMakkai | A Life Among The Pages

  3. Pingback: #NewRelease: Music for Wartime, by @RebeccaMakkai | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

