#Review: Missing Pieces, by @RayDaleyWriter

Title: Missing PiecesMissing Pieces
Author: Ray Daley
Rating: 3/5 stars

“When an ex-serviceman seeks answers about his military past, how far will people go to make sure he finds out exactly what he wants to know?

And how much harder will they work to make sure he doesn’t?”

line-37709

I wasn’t sure about this story at first. there’s a lot left unsaid that made it slightly difficult for me to get into what was happening, as much as I’d have liked, but later on more was revealed to help my overall understanding.

This story takes place in the (possibly near) future, though it was hard to confirm that at first. I felt it crucial to my reading for me to know this to better understand some of what’s said.

Despite that, I think the main theme of the story is fairly upfront and strong. If the writing was only slightly less vague, I think I’d have enjoyed the story that much more.

line-37709

You can grab a copy of this story from:

Smashwords

line-37709

About the Author:

Ray Daley was born in Coventry & still lives there. He served 6 yrs in the RAF as a clerk & spent most of his time in a Hobbit hole in High Wycombe. He is a published poet & has been writing stories since he was 10. His current dream is to eventually finish the Hitch Hikers fanfic novel he’s been writing since 1986.

Find out more:

2 responses to “#Review: Missing Pieces, by @RayDaleyWriter

  1. Pingback: A Storied Week – Week Eight | A Life Among The Pages

  2. Thanks for the review! The lack of dating and deliberate vagueness is to try and make you relate to the protagonist. I did think the authors notes might help to explain things a little but clearly I needed to put a little more in there.

    I was struggling with this quite a lot as the subject is quite personal to me, sometimes it’s difficult to distance yourself from the writing when you are living the reality of the work involved.

    Saying that, I’m glad you got something out of it. Hopefully it’ll ring true with some, my Mil-SF isn’t always completely grounded in actual fiction.

    The book is also available here:- http://www.feedbooks.com/userbook/33384/missing-pieces
    (ideal for android users!) and anyone wanting to get in touch is more than welcome to drop me a line @RayDaleyWriter.

    There are (currently) 72 other free titles available, check a few of them out if you like SF, horror or generally weird stories.

    You can also find my flash fiction on 365 Tomorrows & Linguistic Erosion.

Leave a Reply

