A Storied Week – Call for Suggestions

A Storied Week

line-37709

You all know that for 2014 I plan on reading at least five short stories a week and doing a sort of report on my reactions to them each Saturday. That’s the basic idea behind A Storied Week. So far, I’ve stuck with it for two weeks. But now, I want to stir things up a bit.

Instead of just picking five random stories from my Kindle and print collection, every now and then, I want to choose a theme, genre, time period, or something else to “study” for the week.

Why? Because I’ve found that I’m interested in the art of the short story and how various types of authors or genres can either work or not work for a short story. What does it take to make a Fantasy short story? Can an author really flesh out a believable fantasy world in only a few thousand words…a few hundred? What about dystopian? Alien invasion? Horror? Let’s find out!

What I’m asking for with this post is that you, my loyal readers, help me find some stories to test out my various (still barely developed) theories about short stories. In the comments on this post, or through FB or Twitter, or even email, please share some suggestions for the following categories. Please include the author, title, and genre you think I should read it for. Try to leave links out of comments since the spam filter might grab it on accident.

Thanks for everyone’s help 🙂

line-37709

  • Fantasy (more of a magicy, swords, and dragons type deal)
    • Other sub-genres
  • Sci-Fi
    • Robots/Technology
    • Space travel/exploration/empires type stuff.
    • Other sci-fi sub-genres
  • Horror
    • Vampire
    • Mummy
    • Werewolf
    • Monster
    • Ghost
    • A week of Lovecraft (since I haven’t read anything by him yet)
      • Week of Lovecraft inspired work? I’ll need suggestions there.
  • Dystopian/Utopian
  • Apocalyptic/Post-Apocalyptic
  • Mystery/Crime
  • Classic short stories
  • Anything else I can think of as I go along or other suggestions from you all.

5 responses to “A Storied Week – Call for Suggestions

  1. Love this idea. I have been drawn to reading more short stories, too. After seeing the movie, I am interested in reading “The Secret Life Of Walter Middy.” Looking forward to seeing your list and future posts.

  2. For a good ghost story, I would suggest Coryanna by Joshua Scribner. Basically, I would suggest anything he has written as well. His short stories and flash fiction are amazing. I haven’t read his novels yet, but he’s a master at short stories.

  3. It’s rather tooting my own horn but I have two by Sreya Bremtin. The Napkin Novels: Volume One are loosely connected flash fiction stories that fall under classic shorts. The Napkin Novels: Volume Two are unconnected flash fiction stories that fall under either sci-fi or horror depending on which story you are reading.

  4. Pingback: A Storied Week – Week Nine | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

