2013 #Review Recap – Sacrifice, by @JessFortunato

2013 Recap

Last year I was introduced to The Sin Collector by Jessica Fortunato randomly on Twitter. I knew next to nothing about her or the book, but it got my attention fast and it was definitely worth it.

The Sin Collector became one of my top books from last year. Then, later on, Fortunato released Thomas a companion short story to the trilogy focusing on the title character who’s a minor (but one of my favorite) characters in the first book.

When I heard that Sacrifice, book two, was coming out, it jumped up on my reading list, I devoured it, and now I’m waiting for book three. My only hope is that Fortunato sits down and writes that thing soon. If you’re looking for something different, maybe you’d like to check out the Sin Collector series. Here’s my review of Sacrifice and Happy Christmas to everyone who’s celebrating it today.

♠♠♠♠♠♠♠♠♠

Sacrifice

Original post

Title: Sacrifice (The Sin Collector Book 2)radiance
Author: Jessica Fortunato
Rating: 5/5 stars

“As an immortal Sin Collector, Liliana lead a transient life of solitude for over one-hundred years.

Now with a growing family, she has found herself liking normalcy and the façade of being human. However, when old friends begin to turn up dead, it is clear Collectors are not safe. The battle that Liliana thought she’d won, has only just begun.

She must save herself, her family, and her friends from the Castus, a fanatical group sworn to eradicate her kind.

As Liliana travels the globe making allies, and discovering secrets, she soon learns that the threat to her safety is closer than she ever thought possible.

Will she be able to fight her fate, or will she succumb to an ancient Castus prophecy?” (description from Goodreads)

♠♠♠♠♠

I read The Sin Collector last year, as well as Fortunato’s companion novella Thomas. After reading each of these I was left craving more and needing the next book. Now that I’ve finished book 2, Sacrifice, I can confidently say “Bring on book 3!”

Throughout the time I read it, this book was hard to put down. Fortunato’s writing has always grabbed me in, and she didn’t fail me this time either. It was easy for me to jump back into the story even after so much time between book one and now. That’s how much the story stuck with me. There’s also a sophistication to her writing that I find some modern writers don’t have. It’s not an insult, only something that sets these books apart for me. The word choice of the characters is a nice mix of modern with more aged terms. This helps show the effects of a Collector’s long  life-span, as well.

As I said earlier, this story jumps right into things from where book one left off.  The great characters I grew to love are back as well, yet this time, we get even more out of them. There’s room for more development and more history to come out of the woodwork. This book was a little different in the sense that there was a bit less action, but more information and development of the trilogy as a whole. I can see that there was a lot of thought put into where this story is going, and I’m pleased with the direction it’s taking.

There’s so much I’d like to say about various characters, some events, etc but it’ll be hard not to spoil it for readers, so I’ll refrain. For fans of The Sin Collector, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. For those new to the series, I hope you check out book 1 first, obviously, but you’re in for a great story with some great paranormal (and “normal”) characters. Also Lily, the main character, is still a badass!

♠♠♠♠♠

You can purchase a copy of the Sin Collector: Sacrifice exclusively from:

Amazon

If you still need to read book 1, you can find it below. There’s also a short story to check out (also below).

Book 1: The Sin Collector

Thomas

♠♠♠♠♠

About the Author:

Jessica Fortunato is a writer in Pittsburgh Pennsylvania.

She has been a freelance reviewer for the past three years. She has always loved a supernatural aspect to literature, as well as the addition of theology, so it is no surprise that her debut novel “The Sin Collector” combines just that.

She has been a waitress, a cook, a librarian, a book binder, nanny, and even a hairdresser when the occasion calls for it. However writing is her main focus and she is thrilled to share the first installment of what she hopes will be a a beloved book series.

Find out more:

♠     Website
♠     Twitter
♠     Facebook
♠     Goodreads
♠     Amazon Author Page

One response to “2013 #Review Recap – Sacrifice, by @JessFortunato

  1. Pingback: BEST OF 2013: A Year in #Review | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s