Sacrifice #BlogTour: #Review – Sacrifice, by @JessFortunato

While I have a review for you all to read today, there’s also a bit more to go along with this post. Today’s review is part of Jessica Fortunato’s blog tour for her newest release The Sin Collector: Sacrifice. This is book 2 of The Sin Collector Series. As you might remember from last year, I reviewed Book1 and the companion novella Thomas.

So please, read the review, but don’t forget there’s more to come. Just follow this link and you’ll find the full tour schedule so you can follow along at each stop for more fun!

Continue to the rest of the tour

line-37709

Title: Sacrifice (The Sin Collector Book 2)radiance
Author: Jessica Fortunato
Rating: 5/5 stars

“As an immortal Sin Collector, Liliana lead a transient life of solitude for over one-hundred years.

Now with a growing family, she has found herself liking normalcy and the façade of being human. However, when old friends begin to turn up dead, it is clear Collectors are not safe. The battle that Liliana thought she’d won, has only just begun.

She must save herself, her family, and her friends from the Castus, a fanatical group sworn to eradicate her kind.

As Liliana travels the globe making allies, and discovering secrets, she soon learns that the threat to her safety is closer than she ever thought possible.

Will she be able to fight her fate, or will she succumb to an ancient Castus prophecy?” (description from Goodreads)

line-37709

I read The Sin Collector last year, as well as Fortunato’s companion novella Thomas. After reading each of these I was left craving more and needing the next book. Now that I’ve finished book 2, Sacrifice, I can confidently say “Bring on book 3!”

Throughout the time I read it, this book was hard to put down. Fortunato’s writing has always grabbed me in, and she didn’t fail me this time either. It was easy for me to jump back into the story even after so much time between book one and now. That’s how much the story stuck with me. There’s also a sophistication to her writing that I find some modern writers don’t have. It’s not an insult, only something that sets these books apart for me. The word choice of the characters is a nice mix of modern with more aged terms. This helps show the effects of a Collector’s long  life-span, as well.

As I said earlier, this story jumps right into things from where book one left off.  The great characters I grew to love are back as well, yet this time, we get even more out of them. There’s room for more development and more history to come out of the woodwork. This book was a little different in the sense that there was a bit less action, but more information and development of the trilogy as a whole. I can see that there was a lot of thought put into where this story is going, and I’m pleased with the direction it’s taking.

There’s so much I’d like to say about various characters, some events, etc but it’ll be hard not to spoil it for readers, so I’ll refrain. For fans of The Sin Collector, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. For those new to the series, I hope you check out book 1 first, obviously, but you’re in for a great story with some great paranormal (and “normal”) characters. Also Lily, the main character, is still a badass!

line-37709

You can purchase a copy of the Sin Collector: Sacrifice exclusively from:

Amazon

Also, until September 3rd, you can grab a FREE copy of Thomas the companion novella to the series.

Amazon

line-37709

There’s also a Giveaway going on right now. You can win some ebooks from the series! Head on over to Noree Cosper’s tour post for more!

About the Author:

Jessica Fortunato is a writer in Pittsburgh Pennsylvania.

She has been a freelance reviewer for the past three years. She has always loved a supernatural aspect to literature, as well as the addition of theology, so it is no surprise that her debut novel “The Sin Collector” combines just that.

She has been a waitress, a cook, a librarian, a book binder, nanny, and even a hairdresser when the occasion calls for it. However writing is her main focus and she is thrilled to share the first installment of what she hopes will be a a beloved book series.

Find out more:

♠     Website
♠     Twitter
♠     Facebook
♠     Goodreads
♠     Amazon Author Page

One response to “Sacrifice #BlogTour: #Review – Sacrifice, by @JessFortunato

  1. Pingback: 2013 #Review Recap – Sacrifice, by @JessFortunato | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s