#Poetry: Burn Me, Like a Moth to a Flame, a poem by @SuzyAyers

You all know that I’m a poet. And in being a poet, I like to surround myself with other poet’s writing. Today I have the opportunity to share a poem by my friend and fellow author Suzy Ayers.

fancy line

Burn me, like a moth to a flame

Like a moth to a flame you draw me in.
And every time I am invited by the warm heavenly glow.
You calm my nerves, rub out those wrinkles, and hug away those tears.
You know just what to say; sometimes I think you know me more than I do myself.

You make me laugh and smile and our souls mingle.

But it’s only a façade.
You hold your palm up every time, keeping me out of reach.
Holding my lips from yours, my heart resides outside the gate you’ve created.
And the key, it seems, will be forever dangled in my face.

And like that proverbial moth, I get burned…every time.
I fall every time.
Still I haven’t learned, still invited by that warm heavenly glow.
Who’s going to calms my nerves now, rub out those wrinkles, and hug those tears away that you’ve made.
You know just what to say because you know me so well.

-Suzy Ayers

fancy line

About the Poet:

I grew up on Cape Cod, Massachusetts and a lot of my romance novels are based in the New England area. I’m a wife and currently a stay at home mom.

I write romance across many genres including: Fantasy, Paranormal and Erotic. I have some erotic short stories that twist into happily ever after’s. My writing is focused around love, although not always in the conventional way.

I love to read and devour books at a rapid pace. I’m also passionate about music; you’ll find me singing everywhere. I’m that mom in the SUV singing next to you. When I remember, I practice yoga. I love to laugh and be surrounded by people who make me laugh. My other creative outlet is cooking.

Find more from:

2 responses to “#Poetry: Burn Me, Like a Moth to a Flame, a poem by @SuzyAyers

Leave a Reply

