Review: The Escape, by Jenna Fox

Title: The EscapeThe Escape
Author: Jenna Fox
Rating: 3/5 Stars

“Roxanne is a tough cop who only thinks she knows everything about her tempting and temperamental boss, Chief Martin. But when the two of them are on an undercover assignment in a BDSM club, Roxanne allows jealousy to push her into a deadly situation, spurring the Chief to reveal his true nature.” (description from Goodreads)

line-37709

The Escape was an erotic short that didn’t quite hit all the marks for me as a reader, but it was still work checking out for being Fox’s first release.

If you’re a reader looking for a story with some good BDSM elements, this might be for you. I’ve not inexperienced on the subject, so there’s not much that’ll shock me. With that said, a twist in this story threw me out of the a comfort zone of sorts. I’m a firm believer in reading and the writing of what we read being a form of escapism that can contain fantasies not acted out in everyday life. There’s a little leeway to what’s “ethical,” for lack of a better word. But, there was a part in the twist that just didn’t sit well for me and I think it was also due to the way it was written into the story.

Despite that, the rest of the story wasn’t off-putting. It had its sexy scene in it. The writing itself was good. I’d be interesting in reading a future release from Fox because I feel there’s still room to grow with the writing in this story. Some of it was run-of-the-mill for erotica. Nothing set it apart from the rest, but there’s potential here.

line-37709

You can grab a copy of The Escape from:

Amazon

line-37709

About the Author:

I reside in Eastern Tennessee, and I’m a stay-at-home mom of twin boys. Two of my favorite past-times are storytelling and reading. I love seeing the emotion on someone’s face when I take them on a journey into my imagination with my words.

Currently, I am constructing a draft of my first novel, an erotic thriller, with a touch of horror. I’m greatly inspired by the classics like, “Psycho,” (1960), “Rosemary’s Baby”, and let’s not forget Stephen King’s “Carrie” and “The Shining”.

My favorite characters to construct are the dark ones. They are so complex, yet so simple, and they stand the test of time. A good example is Norman Bates. Even fifty years later, that character still inspires writers like myself.

“Make your audience suffer as much as possible.”–Alfred Hitchcock

Thanks Alfred, I intend to take your advice.

Find out more:

One response to “Review: The Escape, by Jenna Fox

  1. Pingback: #Review: My Secret Sir, by @JennaFoxRox | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

