Review: The Ghost of Nan Clarks Lane, by Shalini Boland

Title: The Ghost of Nan Clarks LaneThe Ghost of Nan Clarks Lane
Author: Shalini Boland
Rating: 4/5 Stars

“It’s 1940 and twins Jimmy and Patrick are off to catch frogs in the North London countryside. But as the day unfolds, Jimmy realises that the ghost of Nan Clarks Lane may be more than just a story.

(Also contains Chapter One from the full length novel A Shirtful of Frogs.)

Suitable for both adults and children aged 10+” (description from Goodreads)

line-37709

The Ghost of Nan Clarks Lane is nice and short.

Boland does a nice job of creating the setting, the main characters, and the storyline in only a few thousand words. While there was more backstory that could have been told, there was just enough extra given without there being any fluff to fill in any gaps.

The twins, Jimmy and Patrick take this innocent trip to catch frogs, but then it turns into a much different outcome to the day. I enjoyed the build-up to the climax of the story and it was a little different than I expected from it. That’s always a sign of a good story.

While I note that the author used the word count effectively, I can also see how a few aspects of the story could have fleshed out just a little more. Being that this is a story related to Boland’s novel A Shirtful of Frogs, I’m sure some of what I would have enjoyed reading more of, would be in the novel.

This is a story young children will likely like to read, as well as adults looking for some light but enjoyable reading.

line-37709

You can grab a copy of The Ghost of Nan Clarks Lane from:

Smashwords (FREE)

Amazon ($0.99)
The author’s trying to get this free on Amazon. Please help her and readers out by reporting the free link(s) to Amazon

line-37709

About the Author:

Books and music are my passion and I’ve always been a writer in some shape or form. Before children, I was signed to Universal Music as a singer/songwriter. I collaborated with some amazing musicians and was lucky enough to sing with Basement Jaxx on their album Rooty and live on stage. But that all seems like several lifetimes ago.

Now I combine motherhood with writing fiction. I write the kinds of books I love to read – gripping adventures with a spattering of supernatural and a sprinkling of romance.

I also get stupidly over-excited when people leave comments on my blog, so please feel free to say what’s on your mind.
For more info:

Leave a Reply

