Review: What the Kid Says, by Jessica Park

Title: What the Kid Says (and Sometimes What I Say)What The Kid Says
Author: Jessica Park
Rating: 5/5 Stars

“A collection of weird discussions that I have with my nine-year-old son, taken from my blog and centralized in one downloadable location to be easily used against him when he is a teenager. Conversation topics include: God and hoodies, whether or not I killed the Thanksgiving turkey, rooting through the neighbor’s recycling bin and discovering a Victoria’s Secret catalog, anthropomorphizing food items while I’m cooking, butlers, how to get girls, and the kid’s obsession with hot tubs.” (description from Goodreads)

line-37709

For those who’ve read some of Jessica Park’s novels, it’s known that Park can write some humorous dialogue. What I found in this short collection is probably the source of some of that humor.

This is a collection of conversations and musings that Park has with her young son. Doesn’t sound particularly spectacular on the surface (doesn’t sound boring either, don’t get my wrong). Though, once I read the first one, I couldn’t  put the book down. I found myself laughing out loud many times (that’s something I almost NEVER do for any book). I found myself going “awww” in many spots. And on the whole, I was left with a great feeling because this book shows a great relationship between a mother and son.

line-37709

You can grab a copy of What the Kid Says from:

Amazon

line-37709

About the Author:

Jessica Park is the author of the young adult novels FLAT-OUT LOVE and RELATIVELY FAMOUS; five Gourmet Girl mysteries (written as Jessica Conant-Park); and the e-shorts FACEBOOKING RICK SPRINGFIELD and WHAT THE KID SAYS (Parts 1 & 2).

Jessica grew up in the Boston area and attended Macalester College in St. Paul, Minnesota. After spending four years in the frigid north, including suffering through one memorable Halloween blizzard, Jessica hightailed it back to the east coast. She now lives in (relatively balmy) New Hampshire with her husband, son, bananas dog named Fritzy, and two selfish cats. When not writing, Jessica indulges her healthy addictions to Facebook, Rick Springfield, and super-sweet coffee beverages.

Find more on

2 responses to “Review: What the Kid Says, by Jessica Park

  1. Pingback: Review: What the Kid Says 2, by Jessica Park | A Life Among The Pages

  2. Pingback: #Review: Facebooking Rick Springfield, by @JessicaPark24 | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

