Reflections Magnolia Memories Blog Tour: Guest Post by poet Patricia Neely-Dorsey

PND TOUR Banner

Today on the blog, I have a post from fellow poet Patricia Neely-Dorsey. She has a guest post for all of you to read, as well as a poem to share later on in this post, as part of her blog tour taking place right now. I hope that you enjoy the post and check out the rest of the tour (click the banner above for more info). Also, don’t forget to check out both of her books. Links can be found below.

line-37709

I have had a love for poetry from a very young age, but the writing came much later in life. I wrote my very first poem on February 14, 2007 at the age of 43! I guess you would say that I was a very late bloomer in that area! I woke up on Valentine’s Day 2007 with this poem just swirling around in my head. I got up and scribbled it down. After that, the poems just started to flow and flow.

Mississippi has such a rich literary history! It is one that I am especially proud of! When I do speaking engagements, I often give quotes from William Faulkner and Eudora Welty. I have definitely been influenced by the distinct elements of southern literature in my writing. So much of southern writing, including my own, have the common themes of remembrances of the past, ties to the land, a strong sense of place, and the importance of family and community. The style and content of my writings have, at various times, been compared to some absolutely phenomenal southern writers such as Margaret Walker, Maya Angelou, Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright. I am truly humbled and beyond thrilled to even be mentioned in the same breath as any of these writing legends.

I have found that my poems have found a special niche with Southerners. But, “my little books of southern poems” don’t just appeal to Southerners. I have found them to have widespread appeal. I have received e-mails complimenting the books from readers from all parts of the country. I have even had many readers outside of the U.S who have expressed how much they have enjoyed, related to and learned from them. I feel such gratification in playing any role in opening minds to the positive aspects of my state and region.

line-37709

sothern life1

line-37709

You can purchase Patricia’s work from the following:

Reflections of a Mississippi Magnolia
Amazon | B&N

My Magnolia Memories
Amazon | B&N

line-37709

About the Author:

PND Bio

Find out more at:

Leave a Reply

