Burning the Nail Poetry Challenge – Poet: Lily Luchesi

Welcome, one and all, to a challenge catered to inspire the poet’s heart in each of us.  A poem, any length and style, to be written about the chosen theme: Burning the Nail. So, what the heck does that mean? That is where the fun begins.Red hot nails

 

Thank you everyone that participated in our poetry challenge.  The submissions were amazingly diverse and deep, taking our theme in so many different ways. We are in awe of all of you.  We thought that perhaps it was time to give everyone a peek behind the curtain and tell you the story behind BURNING THE NAIL.  So, what does it actually mean? We have no idea.  Sheila’s youngest child came up with it.  It was a favorite lyric substitution to many different songs from lullabies to heavy metal.

“I think I heard it sung for a least a week straight, both whispered quietly while playing to singing loudly with the radio in the car.  The more I heard it, the more it called to me.  What could this really mean? ”

So, now you know the truth. The words of a child; molded and shaped into a series of incredible works of poetry.  Isn’t it amazing what such a simple phrase can be transformed into?

Eternally Grateful,

Sheila Hall and Robert Zimmermann 

Break image

Burning the Nail (Liquid Fear)
by Lily Luchesi

I felt
For so long
I felt like
I was being stopped
Held back
Nailed down
Like a vampire
Held in place by a
Silver-tipped
Ash stake
Plunged into
The middle of
My heart
I could not close
My eyes without
Flashbacks
Visions of the past
Mental pictures of
Hell
And, oh, was it Hell!
A nail was plunged into my heart
Like an
Injection
But instead of
Liquid courage
That nail embedded within my breast
Gave me
Liquid fear
Anxiety
Pain
For so long nothing
Could take it away
Nothing
Could make me
Better
Like that fire burned
Withered away
The very best part
Of me
Like that invisible nail made me
Stay
Stay in that place
Stay in that
Godforsaken living nightmare
That, at one time, was
My reality
My personal Hell
The invisible nail
Drenched in fire
Held me down
Like a bug on the end of
A pin
Punched into it by a
Cruel, malicious little child
But I will not
Lie on my back and die
I will
Fight fire with fire
I will
Take back my life
I shall
Burn the rusty, dull nail
That has kept me from being
The woman that God always
Meant for me to be

Break image

Lily Luchesi

Lily Luchesi is an aspiring author/poet from Los Angeles, CA who has been composing poems & making up stories since she was three years old. She has had numerous poems published via www.darkmediaonline.com and is currently looking for a publisher for her YA paranormal novel “The Vampire Next Door” and her spiritual romance novel “Personal Heaven”

Twitter | Blog

Break image

Burning page

4 responses to “Burning the Nail Poetry Challenge – Poet: Lily Luchesi

  1. Lily’s poems are amazing. They make you feel a lot of emotion. Here’s to her becoming a published author, because her art should be read by a lot of people.

  2. I loved the details, carrying us along, building to the strength and determination, the choice, “I shall”! Nothing can keep us down, not even the burning nail of fear, if we choose to stand. Encouraging message Lily!

Leave a Reply

