Burning the Nail Poetry Challenge – Poet: Elizabeth Woods

Welcome, one and all, to a challenge catered to inspire the poet’s heart in each of us.  A poem, any length and style, to be written about the chosen theme: Burning the Nail. So, what the heck does that mean? That is where the fun begins.Red hot nails

 

Thank you everyone that participated in our poetry challenge.  The submissions were amazingly diverse and deep, taking our theme in so many different ways. We are in awe of all of you.  We thought that perhaps it was time to give everyone a peek behind the curtain and tell you the story behind BURNING THE NAIL.  So, what does it actually mean? We have no idea.  Sheila’s youngest child came up with it.  It was a favorite lyric substitution to many different songs from lullabies to heavy metal.

“I think I heard it sung for a least a week straight, both whispered quietly while playing to singing loudly with the radio in the car.  The more I heard it, the more it called to me.  What could this really mean? ”

So, now you know the truth. The words of a child; molded and shaped into a series of incredible works of poetry.  Isn’t it amazing what such a simple phrase can be transformed into?

Eternally Grateful,

Sheila Hall and Robert Zimmermann 

Break image

The Door That Has No Nails
by Elizabeth Woods

Casting out across the fields
Sweeping through the skies so blue
Seeing all of infinity
Noticing sweet you.

Seeing you always hiding
Escaping from the now
Chasing all the storm clouds,
Pouncing all around.

Grasping at mortality
Skimming on the surface
Patience knows no boundaries
One day you will recognize the purpose.

Burning the Nail with abandon
No desire for a place
Gathering up evidence
Your existence is your fate.

Always watching knowingly
Biding time within your fears
Awaiting the recession
Within your heart you know it’s near.

Granted, you possess no nails
No connections with the earth
Walk a path to eternity
Find what’s worth your worth.

Even through your running
You trusted your heart to know
One day you would return home –
And, yes, you had to go.

The heart is ridden from it knots
Your soul is free to bare
For all the running that you felt to do
The answers were always there.

You knew the path already
You had traversed it times before
The path looks like home now
Leads back to the nail-less door.

The door that has no nails
For they have all been brunt
No fixing to conceptions
No fixing to what was learnt.

Watch the door evaporate
You breathe it long and deep
Walking within the knowing
The all, it’s yours to keep.

Break image

Elizabeth Woods aka KWP

Who am I?
I am just me…..
Freeing myself more and more each day
to greet eternity.
A Lover of life
I suck at every second
I will open my heart
To anyone I reckon…
Sometimes I find
That I hit the wall
That’s ok though
I enjoy the fall
Loud is my laugh
Strong I be
I write poems
So infinity I see.
Just ME xxx

Twitter | Facebook

Break image

Burning page

Leave a Reply

