Burning the Nail Poetry Challenge – Poet: B.K. Harris

Welcome, one and all, to a challenge catered to inspire the poet’s heart in each of us.  A poem, any length and style, to be written about the chosen theme: Burning the Nail. So, what the heck does that mean? That is where the fun begins.Red hot nails

 

Thank you everyone that participated in our poetry challenge.  The submissions were amazingly diverse and deep, taking our theme in so many different ways. We are in awe of all of you.  We thought that perhaps it was time to give everyone a peek behind the curtain and tell you the story behind BURNING THE NAIL.  So, what does it actually mean? We have no idea.  Sheila’s youngest child came up with it.  It was a favorite lyric substitution to many different songs from lullabies to heavy metal.

“I think I heard it sung for a least a week straight, both whispered quietly while playing to singing loudly with the radio in the car.  The more I heard it, the more it called to me.  What could this really mean? ”

So, now you know the truth. The words of a child; molded and shaped into a series of incredible works of poetry.  Isn’t it amazing what such a simple phrase can be transformed into?

Eternally Grateful,

Sheila Hall and Robert Zimmermann 

Break image

A Flake In Time
by B.K. Harris

snowy_lake_and_trees-wide

The snow falling down on you and i
tumbling down nonetheless
From the dull grey pillows in the sky
landing softly upon your dress
I look down to the lake with a wandering eye
peaceful, serene, and not another soul on this ness
except of course, for you and i
captivated by your hair you did up in a tress
you sit here and i mustn’t lie
I love your sweet, soft caress
pulling me by my black tie

snowy-kiss

brushing your lips against mine to express
as my hand comes to rest upon your thigh
your absolute devotedness
my soul melts, with a sigh
my heart a swelling to excess
tears form as I begin to cry
yearning for this moment to be ageless

Break image

B. K. Harris

Recently started writing, mostly poems and erotic short stories. Hoping that one day I will be able to call myself an author. Writing has helped me through many struggles in life. All my writing comes from personal experiences or dreams/aspirations.

Twitter | Blog

Break image

Burning page

Leave a Reply

