NEW RELEASE: Magical Misfire (Mortals for Magic Book 1), Cassidy Kingston

Magical Misfire: Mortals for Magic Book 1 releases on Feb 15, 2013 with Torrid books. It is the first in a series that will follow the employees at the Mortals for Magic law firm.

 

ck_magical_misfire2

 

Kayla Bradley is a witch and she has a problem. She is so attracted to her boss, Ryan Cooper, that she can not control her magic when she is around him. Kayla tries to stay away from him, but her best friend Samantha thinks the only way she can cure her problem is to sleep with Cooper.

Ryan Cooper is a lawyer that helps magical people who have been discriminated against. After many disastrous encounters with Kayla, Cooper contacts his sister who tells him that witches sometimes misfire when sexually attracted to someone. Cooper takes matters into his own hands and seduces Kayla in his office after work one day. Will Kayla fall for his seduction?

Break image

Excerpt:

“Kayla, you have to come out.”

“No! I may never come out again.”

“We have to be back in the meeting in five, come on. It wasn’t that bad. I’m sure they didn’t even notice,” Samantha said then quickly covered her mouth to muffle the giggle she let slip out.

“Sam, are you laughing at my humiliation? You’re supposed to be my best friend. I’m sure they all noticed, I mean, I set his tie on fire!”

“Well, it’s funny. Come out I’m tired of talking to the bathroom stall door. Stop acting like a kid.”

Kayla slowly opened the stall door and walked out; her cheeks were still blazing red with embarrassment.

“Kayla, why are you still having misfires? We’ve had our full powers for five years now. You should’ve out grown those years ago.”

“I know; it just seems that every time I’m around Cooper, I get all nervous and things just happen.”

“Ohmigawd! You like him! You’re getting all hot and worked up for him and that’s what’s causing the misfires.”

“Maybe, I mean yeah I’m very attracted to him, way more than I’ve ever been attracted to anyone ever!”

“How long has it been, ya know, since you were with a man? Maybe that is what’s wrong; you have all this pent up energy and it needs to be released…by Cooper.”

“Umm not too long, well maybe a little while.”

“How long Kayla?”

“Two and a half years.”

“Wow! I would die”

“Samantha, stop being so overdramatic. You know that when Brad cheated on me it hurt me badly and I just haven’t been able to get close to another guy ever since.”

“Well if that’s what’s causing you to misfire, you need to get laid before you do some serious harm to the poor guy,” Sam said with a giggle. “You don’t have to jump into a relationship, just the sack. Now come on, we have to get back in the meeting.”

* * * *

The two women walked into the large conference room and sat at the end of the large table. On one side were two older witches and their lawyer. On the other side was Ryan Cooper, head litigator for the “Mortals For Magic” non profit. He specialized in witches and warlocks who had been treated unfairly only because of their magical abilities. Since the magical world let itself be known to the mortal world, there had been a backlash and a new type of discrimination had formed.

Cooper was the mortal son of a magical mother, so he was perfect to run the company even though his mother had long ago shunned her abilities in favor of a rich husband and privileged lifestyle. He was tall, with a dark complexion and short well kept dark blond hair and looked every bit the part of a lawyer. He knew the laws and understood that the magical people were like regular people, just with a little magic.

Cooper sat across from the two older witches, with the top two buttons on his shirt undone and his tie long gone; his collar showing only slight singe marks. He grinned his million dollar smile at the two older witches.

“Ladies, I am honored to give you this check that was sent to us today as severance from your job. The company would like to apologize for the misunderstanding. They are thankful for your years of service and wish you both the best in future endeavors.”

The older of the two ladies took the check, looked it over and said, “Well I’m still pissed they fired us just because we came out about our powers. We worked there twenty-five years. But to tell you the truth, I was getting tired of those idiots. And I’m sure this check will be enough for us to live on for the rest of out lives. Come on Louise, let’s hit the mall.”

The two older ladies stood up and almost sprinted out of the room. Cooper shook hands with their lawyer and walked him to the door then turned to face Sam and Kayla.

“Well that went well, all things considered.”

“Cooper I am so sorry, I guess I must be getting sick. I can pay for your tie and dry cleaning on your jacket.”

“No need to worry Kayla, my sister did worse when she was getting her powers. But she was much younger. I guess you should take the rest of the day off and go see if you can figure out what is causing the misfires. Sam if you could give us a moment alone I need to talk to Kayla.”

“Sure,” Sam said as she turned and walked out of the room, looking back over her shoulder giving Kayla a quick wink when she thought Cooper couldn’t see her.

Cooper walked over and placed a hand on Kayla’s shoulder, looking down at her with his crystal clear green eyes, “Are you sure you’re okay?”

“Yeah Cooper, I’m okay.”

“We can’t have our best magical investigator sick; go take care of your self.”

As soon as he walked out the door a silver stream shot from her finger and caused a small clap of thunder and a rain cloud appeared over the table.

Sam rounded the corner and stood at the door, looking up at the rain cloud.

“Oh lord Kayla, go get laid,” she said as she quickly zapped the raincloud away.

This book can be purchased from
Torrid Books
Break image

About the Author:

I have a million people in my head begging to be let out, some call this being crazy, I call it being a writer. I am married with three kids, two dogs, one extremely fat cat and a few fish. I live in the great state of Alabama where I try really hard not to melt during the summer. When not writing you can find me cheering my kids on at wrestling tournaments or soccer games. I am currently published with Torrid Books.

 

Find more at:

Leave a Reply

