Jordyn Blog Tour – The Sting of Plagiarism

The Sting of Plagiarism

By

Tiffany King

First, let me thank Rob for the opportunity to write a guest post for his blog. Second, let me apologize in advance. For what, you might ask? For all of my friends out there in the social media universe, you know I prefer keeping things light. I try to avoid negativity whenever possible, because quite frankly, it sucks the energy right out of me, and is one giant buzz-kill. So, as much as I even hate to broach this subject, I had to get it off my chest—Plagiarism sucks!

The only reason I am screaming from my soapbox is because I was recently a victim of the crime, and it is crime. Just to clarify, I am not talking about someone uploading one of my stories to some file sharing website where users can read my work for free. That is another subject, and at least in that circumstance, I still get credit for the work. No, I am talking about downright plagiarism: the act of stealing the intellectual property of someone else, and the fraud of passing it off as your own work.

No offense to all the other hard working individuals out there, but I feel like the luckiest person in the universe. Thanks to the opportunities in digital publishing, and to my wonderful readers and supporters, I am literally living my dream. I can never thank you enough. Unfortunately, digital files and the internet make plagiarism easier than ever.

It was an honest person, (thank you again, by the way), that brought my attention to the fact that one of my stories had been plagiarized. My very first book, Meant to Be, had been used by another person on a fan fiction website. Let me just say that fan fiction is great. There are many brilliantly creative people who write fan fiction. The person that clipped my story; however, plagiarized it, word for word, only changing the title and the names of the characters.

Let’s talk about who this hurts. As far as I know, the person who stole my work did not benefit financially, and didn’t directly take any money from my pocket, but that doesn’t mean it didn’t sting just the same. I, just like every other writer out there, put my blood, sweat, tears and soul into my work. Especially, the tears, (just ask my husband).

When you plagiarize, you are stealing something that is the result of countless sacrificed hours. Hours away from my family, friends and other loved ones. Plus, you are stealing from the other hard working individuals who had a hand in the creation and distribution of the work, like editors and cover artists. You are also hurting the people that you duped. The people who trusted you when you claimed that it was your original work. Finally, when you plagiarize, you are insulting every person who spent their hard earned money on the original work in support and appreciation for the hard work and effort that went into creating it.

So, there you go. As an author, I am blessed to do what I do, and wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world. If I can speak for not only myself, but for all writers out there, thank you so much for your support. And for those who feel the need to plagiarize—please don’t. It truly stings more than you know.

Whoa. Now I can take a breath.

line-37709_640

Hand to hand combat training: Check
Cardio and strength training: Check
Daemon hunting: Check
Anomaly: Check

Check, check, check, check…That’s all my life is. There’s nothing ordinary about me. I’m “special.” I know this because I’m reminded of it every stinking day. I can kick a Daemon’s ass with both hands tied behind my back. I can run up a mountain without breaking a sweat. Know what I can’t do? Get guys to notice me, or hang out with friends like normal people do. I can’t just be ordinary because I have an Arch Angel for a mentor who is always breathing down my neck, and a family of angelic Guides and Protectors who scrutinize every little thing I do. Just for a day I want a life where I’m no longer some anomaly, where I don’t have to feel like a lab rat.

And then I met Emrys. Okay, so my mentor and family hate him, but probably for good reason. After-all, he is a Soul Trader, and they aren’t the most trust worthy beings. But, he is sooo hot with his green eyes, leather jacket and the sexiest tattoo you’ve ever seen running down his back. And-he doesn’t treat me like a project.

I’ve got myself in quite a little quandary here. Choosing between my responsibilities and the Trader that holds my heart is something I didn’t sign up for. Torn between two different worlds, I must now decide who to trust and who to walk away from. What’s a girl to do? See what I mean? I am an anomaly. I am Jordyn.

You can purchase  Jordyn from:

Amazon | Smashwords

Join us for a mayhem journey through the paranormal world of Jordyn, where fighting Daemons is a piece of cake but getting a boy to notice you is hell. Once you’ve had a chance to hang out with Jordyn and Emrys head over to Tiffany’s Blog for a chance to win cool prizes!!!

line-37709_640

Tiffany King is the author of The Saving Angels Series, Wishing For Someday Soon, Forever Changed, and Unlikely Allies. Writer by day and book fanatic the rest of the time, she is now pursuing her life-long dream of weaving tales for others to enjoy. She has a loving husband and two wonderful kids. (Five, if you count her three spoiled cats). Her addictions include: Her iphone and ipad, chocolate, Diet Coke, chocolate, Harry Potter, chocolate, and her favorite TV shows. Want to know what they are? Just ask.

3 responses to “Jordyn Blog Tour – The Sting of Plagiarism

  1. Well said Tiffany! It just about broke my heart to see that someone would stoop so low and made me so freakin’ angry — and it’s your book, not mine! I can’t even imagine how it would feel to have something that was so much of my heart and soul stolen.

    You have been so gracious about the whole thing and if anyone doubted what a beautiful heart you have there can be no doubt after this. Thank you for continuing to write your fabulous books and know that there will always be readers and other authors out there making sure indie authors get the credit you all deserve.

    Congratulations on the release of Jordyn. I can’t wait to read it. ❤

    Thanks to Rob for having you on his fantastic blog, too

  2. I worry about this a lot. My site is jammed with weeks (months!!) of my hard work–I sort of just assume anything there is subject to being ripped off–and so try to keep my fictions off line, but once published, that’s impossible.

    A really solid article. That title had me clicking before I read the end of the word: plagiarism. How did you resolve it…did I miss that?

  3. Wow Tiffany, so sorry that happened to you. It’s disgusting that someone would do that. Your new book sounds like at great read, will definitely put it on my long TBR list and will review when done. Rob has a great blog…

Leave a Reply

