Review: Seduction And Snacks, by Tara Sivec

Title: Seduction and Snacks (Chocolate Lovers #1)Seduction and Snacks
Author: Tara Sivec
Rating: 4/5 Stars

“Claire is a twenty-something, single mom that grudgingly helps her best friend sell sex toys while she attempts to make enough money to start her own business to give her foul-mouthed, but extremely loveable (when he’s asleep) toddler a better life.

When Carter, the one-night-stand from her past that changed her life forever, shows up in her hometown bar without any recollection of her besides her unique chocolate scent, Claire will make it a point that he remembers her this time.

With Carter’s undisguised shock at suddenly finding out he has a four-year-old son and Claire’s panic that her stretch marks and slim to none bedroom experience will send the man of her dreams heading for the hills, the pair will do whatever they can to get their happily ever after.

Warning: contains explicit sex, profanity and enough sarcasm to choke a horse.” (description from Goodreads)

fancy lineresize

This was a great book. Really, it was. There was an abundance of comedy, a good amount of romance, an unforgettable cast of characters.

Seduction and Snacks starts out with a bang! Claire’s (one of the main characters) way of telling the story brings most of the enjoyment to this story. Because of her narrative, I marked up a good amount of this book with great quotes. But she’s not the only one who made this story what it was. Tara Sivec created great characters like Liz, Drew, and even Jenny. This book wouldn’t have been the same without Gavin. That little guy had some mouth on him, but also was able to touch the reader’s heart often enough. I just hope he gets a little more discipline as I move into the second and third book. There seemed to be a lack of that and a bit too much laughing at his foul language.

Another thing I liked about this book was the switch in narrator. The two narrators were Claire and Carter. I think the story wouldn’t have been as effective without this switch. Some story-lines just have a need to be told from a variety of sides of the story. It also helped in certain scenes to see what one person was thinking instead of another. Though, when the first narrator switch occurred, I was forced to read a little of the book over again a few times. I thought Claire possible changed into a man. I think this book could have benefited from having headers stating the narrator of each chapter/section before that part started. I was kept on my toes a little too much for my comfort until I got in the flow a bit more, later on.

While I’m talking about a few things I wasn’t pleased with, I’ll point out that while this book really did jump up there on my list of great books, it fell short at times. I don’t normally care if there’s a grammatical error here and there, or even a slip in the formatting (of the ebook). For the edition of Seduction and Snacks that I read, these two types of errors occurred often enough to trip me up at times. Though, really just one last proofread should be able to fix it, so don’t think I’m trying to turn you away from what, aside from the errors in question, is a well written book.

Another issue I had, was the sex scenes in this book. I”m not prude and I do enjoy reading some erotica and know a sexy scene when I read it. I just feel that the detail written into these scenes felt unnatural to the story. For me, it felt like forced writing. The style was different from the rest of the book and I felt like I was dragging along while reading. The rest of this book is very fast-paced and that’s what will keep me moving along to book two very soon, and probably right on to book three after that.

So, overall this was a great book. I definitely can see why there were so many friend recommending this one to me. This is a great read for some laugh out loud moments, some romance and sexy bits, and I found some “awww” moments in here, as well.

fancy lineresize

You can grab yourself a copy of Seduction and Snacks from:

Amazon | Smashwords | B&N

fancy lineresize

About the Author:

Tara Sivec is a wife, mom, chauffeur, cheerleading coach, soccer coach, babysitter, short-order cook, genius and albino squirrel hunter. She lives in Ohio with her husband and two kids. In her spare time she likes read, write and cover things in chocolate. Most of her material comes from real life experiences with family and friends. Lucky for them, the names have been changed to protect the innocent (aka, drunk).

Tara also writes under the pen name T.E. Sivec where she can be serious, suspenseful and not at all funny.

Find out more:

4 responses to “Review: Seduction And Snacks, by Tara Sivec

  1. Pingback: #Review: Futures and Frosting, by @TaraSivec | A Life Among The Pages

  2. Pingback: #Review: Troubles and Treats, by @TaraSivec | A Life Among The Pages

  3. Pingback: #Review: Love and Lists, @TaraSivec | A Life Among The Pages

  4. Pingback: #Review: Shame on Me, by @TaraSivec | A Life Among The Pages

Leave a Reply

