Choose A Poem For Me To Read!

I recently had the idea of creating an “audiobook” version of my book of poetry. I started recording each poem, but the quality of what I record is sub-par for me, so it might be some time before I get that out to the public as a finished product.

To play off the audio book idea and the listening aspect of poetry, I came up with a fun idea. I just received a new camera for the holidays with good quality video capability. I haven’t tested out the audio quality from this just yet, but I will soon. What I’d like to do, is to record one or a few videos of me reading my poetry. But I don’t want to choose the poems. I’ve read them all WAY too much on the page and out loud. At this point I’m too jaded by most of them to choose the “best” or “most liked” poem from the bunch. What I’ve done to help choose, is create a poll (which you’ll see below) that has the options to vote from poems that have gotten attention in reviews. There’s also the option to write in a vote, which I strongly encourage if you don’t see a poem you like in the list.

Have you not read my book yet? Well, if you DO want to, you can get a copy of From Where I Stand from many store. It’s also out in paperback now( WOOHOO!!!) So stop on over to your favorite online store and grab a copy. Click HERE for links.

If you haven’t read From Where I Stand yet, but know of someone else’s poem that you’d like me to read I encourage you to vote for that poem as well. I’d enjoy reading another poet’s work. Just please, make sure that the text is available online (for FREE) and it wouldn’t hurt to leave a comment with the link to the text on this post. I have many, many books of poetry from many of the classic poets, as well as many from more modern classic poets. But that doesn’t mean I’ll have every poem…sadly 😉

I hope those of you who’ve read the book enjoyed it and will be voting for your favorites here. And to future readers, please enjoy as well and feel free to vote. Who knows, you might discover the winning poem is your new favorite.

I’d like to leave you off with a poem from William Carlos Williams that I was reading this morning. No, it’s not “The Red Wheelbarrow.” Please enjoy W.C. William’s “The Young Housewife.”

__________

William Carlos Williams – The Young Housewife

At ten AM the young housewife
moves about in negligee behind
the wooden walls of her husband’s house.
I pass solitary in my car.

Then again she comes to the curb
to call the ice-man, fish-man, and stands
shy, uncorseted, tucking in
stray ends of hair, and I compare her
to a fallen leaf.

The noiseless wheels of my car
rush with a crackling sound over
dried leaves as I bow and pass smiling.

(text from: poemhunter.com)

__________

POLL WILL BE OPEN UNTIL 12:01 AM MONDAY THE 17TH

One response to “Choose A Poem For Me To Read!

Leave a Reply

